February 26, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Parole board made up of lawyers, lawmen, others

Paul Condino served two terms in the Michigan House of Representatives, and now works on video parole hearings. (Dale G. Young / The Detroit News)

Lansing -- Gov. Jennifer Granholm in 2009 increased the parole board membership from 10 to 15 full-time, non-civil service employees to be appointed by the governor instead of the Michigan Department of Corrections.

The new board also was renamed the Parole and Commutation Board. Its members are paid $88,899 annually (the board chairperson, $97,901). The current board consists of:

  • James Atterberry Sr., of Benton Harbor, pastor at Brotherhood of All Nations, Church of God in Christ, Berrien County Deputy Chaplain and Berrien County commissioner.

  • Miguel Berrios, of Grand Rapids, former corrections manager, Grand Rapids police officer and federal parole officer.

  • Charles Brown, of Frankenmuth, who was Saginaw County sheriff for 10 years.

  • Paul Condino, of Southfield, served two terms in the Michigan House of Representatives, representing the 35th District.

  • Jodi DeAngelo, of Brighton, former assistant deputy warden at Scott Correctional Facility.

  • Stephen DeBoer, of Hastings, former Barry County sheriff and State Police post commander.

  • Artina Tinsley Hardman, of Detroit, who served three terms in the Michigan House of Representatives representing the 3rd House District.

  • Anthony King, of Troy, an associate professor of social work at Wayne State University. Also designed a program for prisoner re-entry while at Wayne State.

  • David Kleinhardt, of Laingsburg, manager in the office of the parole board with the Michigan Department of Corrections.

  • Barbara Sampson, of Detroit, ex-director of the Wayne County department of children and family services; a Wayne State University criminal justice department instructor and corrections officer for the Department of Corrections.

  • Laurin' Thomas, of Dimondale, attorney for UAW-GM Legal Services.

  • Ted R. Hammon, of Burton, former state representative, ex-Burton City Council member and Genesee County Commission member.

  • Robert Aguirre, of Otisville, trainer advisor for Pacific Architects & Engineers Group.

  • John Sullivan, of Northville, attorney in private practice.

  • Sonia Amos Warchock, of Jackson, parole violation specialist with state Department of Corrections.