February 18, 2014 at 5:23 pm

'Bad Boys' reuniting next month to celebrate 25th anniversary of title, benefit charity

Joe Dumars, left, and Isiah Thomas were the star backcourt of the Pistons' 1989 championship team. (Nathaniel S. Butler / Getty Images)

Members of the 1989 NBA champion “Bad Boys” Pistons are reuniting next month to celebrate the 25th anniversary year of the first title in franchise history.

Team members will first gather at “Bad Boys Unite,” a charity event, at the Westin Book Cadillac hotel in Detroit on March 27. The team will also be honored at halftime of the Pistons-Heat game the following night.

Attendees have not been confirmed, but players on the 1989 team include Isiah Thomas, current Pistons president Joe Dumars, Bill Laimbeer, John Salley, Mark Aguirre, Dennis Rodman, Vinnie Johnson, James Edwards, Rick Mahorn, John Long, Fennis Dembo and Micheal Williams.

"The 1989 NBA championship is a special moment in our franchise's history," Dumars, the 1989 NBA Finals MVP, said in a statement. "Detroit fans supported our team with great passion and it's fitting to commemorate the 25th anniversary of that team in a way that supports the city and connects with our fans."