June 6, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Michigan State announces athletic award winners, including two Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients

Michigan State hockey captain Greg Wolfe was named the recipient of a Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor on Friday. (Elizabeth Conley / Detroit News)

East Lansing Michigan State announced its annual athletic award winners Friday, including two recipients of the Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor.

Hockey player Greg Wolfe and field hockey player Kristen Henn won the Big Ten honors, given to one male and one female at each member school.

Im truly honored and humbled to receive this award, Wolfe said. At the same time, its a great feeling to be regarded in the same class as so many well-respected student-athletes.

Said Henn: Im so thankful that I had the opportunity to pursue both an undergraduate and graduate degree while competing on the field hockey team at Michigan State.

Wolfe, who graduated in May, had a great season, finishing with a team-high 13 goals and 31 points. His 19 points in Big Ten play were the fifth-most for any player in the league.

Henn led the Spartans to three NCAA Tournament appearances and two Big Ten championships.

Football star Darqueze Dennard, drafted in April by the Cincinnati Bengals, earned MSUs George Alderton Male Athlete of the Year award, while golfer Allyssa Ferrell was named George Alderton Female Athlete of the Year, the school announced.

Other award winners:

Chester Brewer Leadership Award: Kristen Kelsay (volleyball)

Dr. James Feurig Achievement and Service Award: Kelsay

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award (Male): Antonio James (track and field)

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award (Female): Tori Franklin (track and field)