July 25, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Media predict MSU's Shilique Calhoun will win Big Ten's top defensive award

Shilique Calhoun had two forced fumbles and four fumble recoveries last season. (Dale G. Young / Detroit News)

Michigan State defensive end Shilique Calhoun is the favorite to win Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, according to media members who cover conference teams.

In a poll conducted by cleveland.com, Calhoun was named on 13 of 29 ballots to beat out Nebraska end Randy Gregory. Michigan linebacker Jake Ryan received one vote.

The Big Ten Conference does not conduct its own preseason polls for teams or individuals.

In the Offensive Player of the Year category, Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller easily finished first with 21 votes.

Calhoun, a junior from Middletown, N.J., was named Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year last season when he had 14 tackles for loss and 7.5 sacks.


1. Shilique Calhoun, DE, Michigan State (13 votes)

2. Randy Gregory, DE, Nebraska (10)

3. Michael Bennett, DL, Ohio State (4)

4. Joey Bosa, DL, Ohio State (1)

4. Jake Ryan, LB, Michigan (1)


1. Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State (21 votes)

2. Melvin Gordon, RB, Wisconsin (5)

3. Ameer Abdullah, RB, Nebraska (2)

4. Christian Hackenberg, QB, Penn State (1)