August 5, 2014 at 1:00 am

Bert Johnson keeps state Senate seat; Virgil Smith appears to

Johnson )

In Wayne County, two Senate incumbents appear to have prevailed in Democratic races to retain their seats.

Incumbent Sen. Bert Johnsonprevailed in a re-election challenge with 63 percent of the vote over Rep. John Olumba. Meanwhile, Sen. Virgil Smith appears to have narrowly defeated term-limited state Rep. Rashida Tlaib.

In the heated race for an open seat in state Senate District 5, Rep. David Knezek topped the race, with 29 percent of the vote. He was followed by former Rep. Shanelle Jackson, with 25 percent, and David Nathan, who had 22 percent of the votes with 100 percent of precincts in.

Nathan filed a lawsuit Monday questioning the origins of certain absentee ballots. He has asked a judge to enter an order that will temporarily prevent those ballots from being counted.

Incumbent House members hung onto their seats, while others were selected in races for open district spots:

■ State House 1: In a six-way challenge, Democratic incumbent and ex-felon Brian Banks appears to have won over Rebecca Thompson of the United Way of Southeastern Michigan.

■ State House 2: Incumbent Alberta Tinsley-Talabi took the victoryover Democratic challengers Andrew Casazza and Bill Miller. She held 65 percent of the vote with 100 percent of precincts reporting.

■ State House 3: Democrat Wendell Byrd took the win in the crowded field of candidates battling to replace incumbent John Olumba, who was defeated in his bid for state Senate.

■ State House 4: Incumbent Rose Mary Robinson of Detroit defeated her challenger, Hamtramck City Councilman Mohammed Hassan. With 100 percent of precincts in, Robinson had 83 percent of the vote to Hassan’s 17 percent.

■ State House 5: Fred Durhall III, the son of retiring state Rep. Fred Durhal Jr., defeated Cynthia Johnsonin the race for the seat.

■ State House 6: Stephanie Chang won the Democratic race for the seat held by incumbent state Rep. Rashida Tlaib, who is term-limited. If elected in November, Chang would be the first Asian-American woman to represent a Detroit neighborhood.

■ State House 7: Democrat Nicole Wells Stallworth, the wife of outgoing seat holder, Thomas Stallworth III,was defeated in a tight race with union-backed LaTanya Garrett, earning 32 percent of the vote, to Garrett’s 35 percent.

■ State House 8: Sherry Gay-Dagnogo took 45 percent of the vote in in a packed field of Democrats vying to fill the seat of incumbent David Nathan.

■ State House 9: Incumbent Harvey Santana beat his challenger, Dearborn school board president Hussein Berry.

■ State House 10: Leslie Love came out on top in the Democratic race for Rep. Phil Cavanagh’s open seat. She was followed by Jay Johnson.

■ State House 11: With 100 percent of the vote in, candidate Julie Plawecki was first with 31 percent of the vote among eight Democrats vying for the seat currently held by Rep. David Knezek. Second place was activist, Rashid Baydoun, with 18 percent. Others are Dearborn Heights Councilman Ned Apigian and Inkster Mayor Hilliard Hampton, DeArtriss Coleman-Richardson, Dorothy Webb Grady and Patricia Scott, all of Inkster, and Dearborn Heights resident Lisa Hicks-Clayton.

■ State House 13: Former Allen Park school board president Frank Liberati won the Democratic race for the seat of incumbent Andrew Kandrevas, who is not seeking re-election due to term limits.

■ State House 19: Wayne County Commissioner Laura Cox, R-Livonia, defeated Ken Crider, a skilled tradesman from Livonia in the Republican primary. She will meet Democrat Stacey Dogonski in the fall in the GOP-leaning district. Cox is an eight-year commissioner, former U.S. customs special agent and wife of former state Attorney General Mike Cox.

The Associated Press contributed.

Johnson )
Smith (Steve Perez / The Detroit News)