Three Oakland County teachers are among four from Michigan and 213 nationwide who were named Monday as winners of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Brian Langley, a science teacher at Novi High School; Francie Robertson, a math teacher at Pine Tree Elementary in the Lake Orion Community Schools; and Wendy Osterman, a math teacher at Sashabaw Middle School in the Clarkston Community Schools, will receive their awards Sept. 8 in Washington along with the other Michigan honoree, Gary Koppelman, a science teacher at Blissfield Elementary School in Lenawee County.

The honorees, who represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Territories and the Department of Defense Activity Schools, each will be awarded $10,000 from the National Science Foundation.

Read or Share this story: