Toyota and Acura retain their original value the most of any other brands after five years of ownership, according to the annual Best Retained Value awards.

Toyota won in the non-luxury division with a projected 52.4 percent residual value after five years. Acura won in the luxury division with a projected five-year value of 46.9 percent.

Of the 24 segment awards, Toyota had the most wins — the Tacoma, Avalon, Tundra and Highlander. The GS 350 and GX 460 won for its Lexus brand.

General Motors Co. had three segment winners — the GMC Acadia, GMC Yukon and Chevrolet Corvette. Fiat Chrysler Automobiles also had three — the Dodge Challenger, Jeep Wrangler and Ram Promaster. Ford Motor Co. had two — the F-350 Super Duty and Transit Connect.

“Smart-car shoppers who are likely to sell their car within five years should always stop and consider projected residual values before making a new car purchase,” consumer advice editor Carroll Lachnit said.

Best Retained Value awards

Segment winners in’s annual Best Retained Value awards:

Compact car: Subaru WRX

Compact crossover SUV: Honda CR-V

Midsize truck: Toyota Tacoma

Entry luxury car: Acura ILX

Entry luxury SUV: Acura RDX

Entry sports car: Dodge Challenger

Large car: Toyota Avalon

Large crossover SUV: GMC Acadia

Heavy duty truck: Ford F-350 Super Duty

Large SUV: GMC Yukon

Large truck: Toyota Tundra

Midrange luxury car: Lexus GS 350

Midrange luxury SUV: Lexus GX 460

Midrange sports car: Chevrolet Corvette

Midsize car: Subaru Legacy

Midsize crossover SUV: Toyota Highlander

Midsize traditional SUV: Jeep Wrangler

Minivan: Honda Odyssey

Premium luxury car: Porsche Panamera

Premium luxury SUV: Mercedes-Benz G Class

Premium sports car: Nissan GT-R

Subcompact car: Honda Fit

Small commercial van: Ford Transit Connect

Large commercial van: Ram Promaster


Read or Share this story: