Mich. council on driverless cars appointed

Jim Lynch
The Detroit News

Gov. Rick Snyder has assembled an advisory panel to help guide Michigan’s progress on mobility issues and driverless vehicles.

That council is tasked with bringing back preliminary recommendations quickly. Snyder has asked for suggested policy changes by the end of March.

Michigan is in a race with other states to be the leader on new technologies that are shaping the auto industry and transportation in general. The panel was created under legislation passed last year that was intended to encourage autonomous vehicle development in Michigan.

Snyder’s 21-member council represents a cross-section of interests, from manufacturing to economic development to government.

“Staying ahead of the curve in the field of mobility is key to Michigan’s future success,” Snyder stated in a press release. “With these individuals lending their expertise from the field, we can be proactive in adopting new policies necessary to keep making advancements for Michigan and the world.

“All of us working together will make cars smarter and safer for people globally while continuing to drive our economy forward.”

The Michigan Council on Future Mobility will include a dozen private-sector representatives:

■Steve Arwood, CEO of Michigan Economic Development Corp.

■Stephen Buckley, senior technical fellow and manager in electrical engineering from Fiat Chrysler Automobiles

■David Bulkowski, director of Disability Advocates of Kent County

■Mark Davidoff, managing partner with Deloitte LLP

■Eric DeLong, Grand Rapids deputy city manager

■Ryan Eustice, vice president of autonomous driving at Toyota Research Institute

■Emily Frascaroli, counsel for Ford Motor Co.

■John James, president of Renaissance Global Logistics

■Amy Mass, vice president and general counsel for the Hanover Insurance Group

■Jeremy McClain, director of systems and technology for Continental Automotive Systems Inc.

■John Peracchio, managing member of Peracchio & Co. consulting services

■Gary Smyth, executive director of Global Research and Development Laboratories for General Motors Co.

Other members include Kirk Steudle, director of the Department of Transportation; Pat McPharlin, director of the Department of Insurance and Financial Services; Michael Senyko, designee of Secretary of State Ruth Johnson; David Behen, director of the Department of Technology, Management and Budget; Kriste Etue, director of Michigan State Police; Sen. Mike Kowall; Sen. Rebekah Warren; Representative Michele Hoitenga, appointed by the Speaker of the House; Rep. Kevin Hertel.

Kirk Steudle, head of the Michigan Department of Transportation, will co-chair the group along with Peracchio.

(313) 222-2034