Mike Posner readies ‘The Truth’ EP

Adam Graham
The Detroit News

Mike Posner is ready to tell “The Truth.”

The Southfield singer’s four-song EP, “The Truth,” will be released June 22, his reps announced Thursday. It marks Posner’s first commercial release in five years, following his debut album “31 Minutes to Takeoff” in 2010.

“The Truth” includes the songs “I Took a Pill in Ibiza,” “Be As You Are,” “Not That Simple” and “Buried in Detroit.” The songs are acoustic-based and introspective, leaning more toward confessional singer-songwriter compositions than his earlier club-pop sound.

Posner’s recent stylistic reinvention follows two scrapped albums, “Sky High” and “Pages,” that were shelved by his record company. “The Truth” marks Posner’s first release on Island Records.

The Duke University graduate has recently been performing small pop-up shows, including one at a public park in Ann Arbor earlier this month.

Subscribers to Posner’s email list received links to the new EP earlier this week.

The four songs on “The Truth” will be included on Posner’s upcoming full-length album, which is not yet titled and doesn’t have a release date.