A weekly showcase featuring local musicians.

Name: J. Navarro & the Traitors

Lineup: Jason Navarro, vocals and guitars; Eric Abbey, vocals and keyboards; Negus Arubis, vocals; Ken Haas, guitar and vocals; Steven Kachnowski, trombone; Scott Vesey, bass and vocals; Jason Millbauer, drums.

History: This ska band was formed by Jason Navarro and Eric Abbey, two musicians who have been in the Detroit ska scene for years but never played in a band together until now. Abbey also performs in reggae band 1592, and Navarro is the front man for nationally known punk band the Suicide Machines.

Next: The band plays Friday at Thomas Magee’s, 1408 E. Fisher, in Detroit. The Dirty Notion and the Dekkers open the show, which starts at 9 p.m. No cover. Must be 21 or older to attend.

Melody Baetens

Read or Share this story: