Detroit — The city’s Election Commission on Thursday certified eight mayoral candidates for the Aug. 8 primary ballot and seven in the race for Detroit clerk.

Only half of the 16 hopefuls who filed for the mayor’s race by the April 25 deadline were approved for the ballot. The others were disqualified for not meeting residency or signature requirements, according to the official municipal election candidate list.

The list, unanimously approved by the three-member commission, includes incumbent Mayor Mike Duggan and his most high-profile challenger, state Sen. Coleman Young II.

Also appearing on the ballot will be document specialist Articia Bomer, youth mentor Edward D. Dean, activist Curtis Christopher Greene and Donna Marie Pitts. Angelo Brown and Danetta L. Simpson also are qualified candidates.

Artist Ingrid LaFleur, who was disqualified from the ballot for not meeting residency requirements, intends to run as a write-in candidate, her campaign confirmed Thursday.

The battle for Detroit clerk has seven contenders. Two others who filed by the April deadline failed to obtain a sufficient number of signatures, according to the elections office.

Janice Winfrey is running for a fourth term as Detroit clerk. She will be facing a challenge from former NAACP Detroit president Heaster Wheeler and her challenger in the last election cycle, D. Etta Wilcoxon.

Ronald Creswell, Garlin D. Gilchrist II, Cynthia Johnson and Faustine Amara Onwuneme also are confirmed contenders for the primary.

Detroiters in August will also cast ballots for candidates vying for two at-large seats on City Council as well as six of the seven council districts. The race for District 5 will appear only on the November ballot, since it includes just two candidates: incumbent Mary Sheffield and her challenger, Wayne County Commissioner Jewel Ware, elections officials said.

President Brenda Jones and Janee Ayers are in the race to retain their at-large seats on council along with Mary Waters, Beverly Kindle-Walker and Alisa McKinney.

James Tate is seeking another term in northwest Detroit’s council District 1. Others running for the seat are De’Andre Nelson and Tamara Smith.

In District 2, Council President Pro Tem George Cushingberry Jr. is being challenged by former state Sen. Virgil Smith and past council candidate Roy McCalister Jr. Others are Linda D. Bernard, Helena Scott and Tyra Dear Williams.

District 3 Councilman Scott Benson faces challengers Cedric Banks, Russ Bellant, Dennis Green and Adam Mundy.

Andre Spivey, who represents District 4, is up against Jackie Grant, Ane Bomani and Latisha Johnson.

In District 6, past candidate Tyrone Carter is certified to go up against Councilwoman Raquel Castaneda-Lopez in the southwest Detroit district, as is Felicita Lugo.

Councilman Gabe Leland is running for re-election in District 7. His challengers are Regina Ross and JoAnna Underwood.

Read or Share this story: