Voters in 3 Macomb cities to choose council candidates

Mike Martindale
The Detroit News

Center Line – Macomb County voters in three communities will go to the polls Aug. 8 to choose finalists to compete in city council races for the November general election.

Voters in Center Line, New Baltimore and St. Clair Shores will decide the names to be placed on the general election ballot.

In Center Line, voters will decide among incumbent Mary Hafner and challengers Kawsar Dewan, Peter Harenski, Jane Lapham, Richard Moeller and Mary Ann Zielinski for the final four candidates to run for two four-year terms in November.

In New Baltimore, voters will choose six candidates who will run for three council seats in November. Incumbents Susan Burkhardt, Eric Haydamack and Karl Rutledge are seeking re-election. They will be challenged by Ryan Covert, David Duffy, Ioulia Thomas and Carl Weinreich.

In St. Clair Shores, voters will pick from seven candidates for the six finalists who will run for three, four-year council terms in November. Incumbents John Caron, Peter Rubino, and Candice B. Rusie will be challenged by candidates Scott A. Dodich, Jim Lewis, Robert Muha and Erin A. Stahl.

(248) 338-0319