News wins 26 awards in annual Mich. AP contest

The Detroit News

The Detroit News and journalists collected 26 awards Sunday in the annual Michigan Associated Press Media Editors newspaper competition.

Earning first place honors were:

The Detroit News staff for “Equal Dignity: Supreme Court Legalizes Same Sex-Marriage” in Best Spot News Coverage; Breaking News editor Daren Tomhave for headline writing; photographer Daniel Mears for “I-94 Fireball”; and designer James Hollar in the Best Full Page Design category.

Second-place honors went to The Detroit News in the General Excellence category; Andreas Supanich in headline writing; Nolan Finley for Best Column; Charlotte Massey for “A Family’s Footsteps” for Best Feature Writing; Tony Paul and Matt Charboneau in Best Sports Story for their work on allegations against Michigan State University softball coaches; John Niyo for Best Sports Feature Story; Tim Summers’ “Foreclosure Meltdown” in Best Illustration or Graphic; Chad Livengood and Robert Snell in Best Spot News coverage for their work on an FBI probe of Detroit schools; Laura Berman in Best Enterprise Reporting for “Scamming Cancer Doctor”; Christine MacDonald and Joel Kurth for “Detroit’s Foreclosure Meltdown” in Best Investigative Reporting; and a staff award for best multimedia storytelling for “Foreclosures fuel Detroit blight, cost city $500 million.”

Third-place honors went to Steve Wilkinson in Best Headline Writing; John Niyo for Best Sports Column; Tim Summers’ “Stumbling Stones” for Best Illustration or Graphic; Jim Lynch in Best Public Service for his work on the Flint water crisis; Steve Perez for “Inconsolable Mother” in Best Photo; Dale G. Young for “Steer Wrestler” in Best Feature Photo; George Hunter in Best Spot News Coverage for “Kind cop melts tot’s police fears”; Joel Kurth and Louis Aguilar in Best Enterprise Reporting for their work on “arson in Detroit”; Chad Livengood for his work on the Todd Courser/Cindy Gamrat scandal in Best Investigative Reporting; Kim Storeygard in Best Full Page Design; and Charlotte Massey for “A Dangerous, Desperate Journey” for Best Multimedia Storytelling.

Twenty-nine daily newspapers submitted 1,012 entries in the contest, which featured news and sports stories, features, editorials, columns, graphics and photos from 2015.

Entries were judged by editors from the Courier, Findlay, Ohio and the Kenton (Ohio) Times; Division I; the Lima (Ohio) News and Record-Courier, Kent-Ravenna, Ohio; Division II; the Vindicator, Youngstown, Ohio and the Chronicle Telegram, Elyria, Ohio; Division III.

The Associated Press is a not-for-profit news cooperative representing 1,400 newspapers and 5,000 broadcast stations in the United States.