Ficano files to run for judge of Third Circuit

Charles E. Ramirez, and Mark Hicks
(caption) Wayne County executive Robert Ficano gets ready for a television interview after his press conference.. **** Wayne County executive Robert Ficano announces his bid for reelection at the IBEW Local 58 headquarters in Detroit on April 21, 2014. (Robin Buckson / The Detroit News)

Wayne County’s former county executive is seeking to become a Third Circuit Court judge nearly two years after losing his re-election bid.

Robert Ficano on Friday filed to seek a six-year term with the Wayne County court during August’s primary elections, Secretary of State records show.

Tuesday was the filing deadline. In addition, three people will vie for the office of Wayne County treasurer.

Ficano lost his bid in 2014 to seek a fourth, four-year term as Wayne County executive amid a federal corruption probe. Though he was never charged, and several aides were, the corruption allegations and a series of scandals drove the former county sheriff from office.

Ficano, an attorney since the 1970s, said he demonstrated fairness and compassion in his previous roles — including helping open a homeless shelter in the sheriff’s administration building during cold weather and working with the Detroit Rescue Mission Ministries.

That experience, along with teaching Corrections Department and constitutional law at Wayne County Community College District, have helped prepare him to administer justice, Ficano said.

“I’ve seen different types of approaches to the law,” he said, adding: “I feel very fortunate in things that have happened in my life in terms of I’m a first-born generation here in this country. So the opportunities that I have had, I want to make sure there’s fairness and justice for people who come in front of me.”

Meanwhile, Treasurer Eric Sabree is being challenged by two other Democratic contenders, Beverly Kindle-Walker and Patrick E. O’Donnell, according to the county clerk’s unofficial list of candidates for county and local offices.

The list was posted on the clerk’s website at 6 p.m. Tuesday.

Sabree was appointed county treasurer earlier this month by county Prosecutor Kym Worthy, Clerk Cathy Garrett and Chief Probate Judge Freddie Burton Jr. He joined the treasurer’s office in March 2011 after spending more than 11 years as an attorney for the county.

Sabree took over for Richard Hathaway, who resigned last month after only three months on the job for personal family reasons. Hathaway was selected in December to succeed Treasurer Raymond J. Wojtowicz, who retired after 39 years in the job.

Sabree’s appointment lasts until June 30, 2017. The job pays about $116,000 a year.

Kindle-Walker, former neighborhood city hall manager, has ran campaigns to be county treasurer since 1996.

Tuesday was also the deadline to file as a candidate for five other elected county posts: clerk, commissioner, prosecuting attorney, register of deeds and sheriff.

Incumbent County Clerk Cathy Garrett will vie against Adam Salam Adamski, who unsuccessfully ran for county executive in 2014 and county clerk in 2012.

Five county commissioners are running for re-election unopposed in their districts while their counterparts are being challenged in 10 other districts.

Worthy also is unopposed in her re-election bid, but incumbent County Register of Deeds Bernard J. Youngblood will face off against Ricardo R. Moore, a Detroit Police commissioner.

Finally, Sheriff Benny Napoleon will run for re-election against Shelly L. Milton, a deputy Wayne County sheriff who works in the Third Circuit Court, and Dickie White.

(313) 222-2058

Candidates for Wayne County offices


Adam Salam Adamski, D

*Cathy M. Garrett, D

County Commissioners

District 1

Jermain Lee Jones, R

*Tim Killeen, D

DaRell Andre Reed, D

John W. Steininger, R

District 2

Kikora Elcock, D

Michael Cyril Gardner, Sr., D

Jewel Ware, D

District 3

LaMar Lemmons, D

Anam Miah, D

*Martha G. Scott, D

District 4

Tyrone Carter, D

Ilona Varga, D

District 5

Benjamin Bowman, D

Michelle Broughton, D

*Irma Clark-Coleman, D

District 6

Carl W. Baxter, D

Alvin Donald, D

*Burton Leland, D

Monique Baker McCormick, D

District 7

*Alisha Bell, D

District 8

*Diane L. Webb, D

District 9

Thomas C. Berry, R

Patrick Crandell, D

Terry A. Marecki, R

District 10

Joe Barone, R

Nate Smith-Tyge, D

District 11

*A. Haidous, D

District 12

*Glenn S. Anderson, D

Susan Mason, D

District 13

*Gary Woronchak, D

District 14

*Raymond Basham, D

District 15

Patricia D. Hartig, D

Patrick D. O’Connell, R

*Joseph Palamara, D

Prosecuting Attorney

*Kym L. Worthy, D

Register of Deeds

Ricardo R. Moore, D

*Bernard J. Youngblood, D


Shelly L. Milton, D

*Benny N. Napoleon, D

Dickie White, D


Beverly Kindle-Walker, D

Patrick E. O’Donnell, D

*Eric Sabree, D


Source: Wayne County Clerk’s Office