Our endorsement: For Legislature, from Macomb County

The Detroit News

Macomb County is losing three members of its legislative delegation to term limits, giving voters a chance to freshen their representation. They should choose lawmakers who will commit to policies that will bolster the state's recovery.

Legislators who can't seek re-election are Reps. Harold Haugh, D-Roseville, Jon Switalski, D-Warren, and Peter Lund, R-Shelby Township.

Here are our recommendations for the state Legislature from Macomb County:

State Senate

District 8 (Parts or all of Macomb County, portion of Grosse Pointe Shores, St. Clair Shores, Mount Clemens, Utica and Harrison, Chesterfield, Lenox, Ray, Shelby, Washington and Bruce townships): Incumbent Jack Brandenburg, R-Harrison Township, is a leader in the Senate and should be re-elected. As chairman of the Finance Committee, he has shepherded the reforms of the personal property tax, unemployment compensation the Michigan Business Tax. However, we have serious concerns about Brandenburg's resistance to finding a funding solution for Michigan's deteriorating roads. He must do better this term. He is opposed by Democrat Christine Bell of Chesterfield Township.

District 9 (all of Warren, Center Line, East Pointe, Roseville and parts of Clinton Township): An outspoken Democrat, incumbent Steven Bieda, D-Warren, has shown he can be part of critical bipartisan efforts, such as in the repeal of the personal property tax on businesses. He earns our endorsement with the urging that he continue to reach across the aisle. Running against him is Republican Hawke Fracassa of Warren.

District 10 (Sterling Heights, Macomb Township, part of Clinton Township): Winning our endorsement is incumbent Tory Rocca, R-Sterling Heights. He has done a decent job as a legislator, although sometimes he falls short in his public relations duties. Rocca's challenger is Kenneth Paul Jenkins, D-Macomb Township.

District 25 (parts of St. Clair County and Richmond, New Baltimore, Memphis and Armada and Richmond townships in Macomb): As a former state representative and county commissioner, incumbent Phil Pavlov, R-St. Clair, has proved to be one of the Legislature's most effective members. The former business owner should be re-elected. Opposing him is Democrat Terry L. Brown of Pigeon.

State House

District 18 (Grosse Pointe Shores, East Pointe and St. Clair Shores): Incumbent Sarah Roberts, D-St. Clair Shores, has added to her leadership experience and should be given another term. The former Macomb commissioner has been a leader on women's issues. Roland R. Fraschetti, a St. Clair Shores Republican, is her opponent.

District 22 (Roseville and part of Warren): John G. Chirkun, a Democrat from Roseville, is seeking his first term. The former council member and mayor of Roseville has the experience and fiscal knowledge to work well in the House. Also seeking the seat is Republican Jeff Bonnell of Roseville.

District 24 (Harrison Township and parts of Clinton and Macomb townships): Incumbent Anthony G. Forlini, R-Harrison Township, is a fiscal conservative who is looking out for the best interests of both Michigan residents and businesses. The former Harrison Township supervisor should be re-elected. His opponent is Philip Kurczewski, a Democrat from Clinton Township.

District 25 (Part of Sterling Heights and parts of Warren): An attorney and small business owner, Nick Hawatmeh, a Republican from Warren, has the background to be a good state legislator. His fiscally conservative views would help keep Michigan moving in the right direction. Democrat Henry Yanez, Sterling Heights, is his opponent.

District 28 (Center Line and part of Warren): In the battle for the open seat, Warren Democrat Derek E. Miller holds promise for becoming a good legislator. The practicing attorney has expressed a willingness to compromise on critical issues. Beth Foster, R-Center Line, also seeks the seat of the term-limited Switalski.

District 30 (Utica, parts of Sterling Heights and Shelby Township): Incumbent Jeff Farrington, R-Utica, has worked effectively in the Legislature and deserves another term. His conservative views and fiscal common sense earn him high marks. He is opposed by Democrat Bo Karpinsky of Sterling Heights.

District 31 (Fraser, Mount Clemens and part of Clinton Township): Incumbent Marilyn Lane, D-Fraser, should be re-elected. She has the ability to work with all elected officials in an arena where bipartisanship is critical. Challenging her is Phil Rode, a Republican from Fraser.

District 32 (New Baltimore, Chesterfield Township and rest of district in St. Clair County): A vibrant leader, incumbent Andrea LaFontaine earns our endorsement. She has a good sense of what business needs from Lansing. Democrat Pamela Kraft, Chesterfield Township, is her opponent.

District 33 (Part of Macomb Township, all of Lenox, Ray, Armada and Richmond townships, Richmond and Macomb County portion of Memphis): Incumbent Ken Goike, R-Ray Township, a former businessman, gets the endorsement for being a consistent voice for fiscal reform. Joe Ruffin, a Democrat from Romeo, is his opponent.

District 36 (Washington and Bruce townships, part of Shelby Township): In another district that will send a new face to Lansing, Peter J. Lucido, R-Shelby Township, an attorney for 25 years, should be elected. Also seeking Lund's seat is Democrat Robert Murphy of Romeo.