Our endorsements for the 2016 primary election

The Detroit News

Michigan voters go to the polls today to select the candidates for Congress, legislative and county races who will face off in the fall general election.

And many communities also have local races and ballot initiatives to decide.

Turnout in primary elections is typically dismal. But because many districts are dominated by one party or the other, the primary will decide, for all practical purposes, the final outcome in those places.

So it’s important to get out and vote today.

Below you’ll find The Detroit News’ recommendations for today’s primary balloting in key races:

U.S. Congress

District 1: Jason Allen (R), Lon Johnson (D)

District 7: Tim Walberg (R)

District 10: Phil Pavlov (R)

District 13: Janice Winfrey (D)

District 14: Brenda Lawrence (D)

State Senate

District 4: Fred Durhal Jr. (D)

State House of Representatives

District 1: Washington Youson (D)

District 2: Willie Bell (D)

District 3: Wendell Byrd (D)

District 4: Mary Anne Robinson (D)

District 5: Fred Durhal III (D)

District 6: Stephanie Chang (D)

District 7: LaTanya Garrett (D)

District 9: Gary Pollard (D)

District 10: Mary Mazur (D)

District 12: Erika Geiss (D)

District 13: Frank Liberati (D)

District 14: Jeff Chicoine (D)

District 15: Terrance Gerin (R), Brian Stone (D)

District 16: Pat Gaffka (R)

District 18: Kevin Hertel (D)

District 19: Steve King (D)

District 20: Chris Roosen (R),

John Sullivan (D)

District 22: John Chirkun (D)

District 23: Robert Howey (R),

Darrin Camilleri (D)

District 24: Steve Marino (R)

District 25: Henry Yanez (D)

District 28: Patrick Green (D)

District 29: Peter Trzos (R)

District 30: Diana Farrington (R),

Michael Notte (D)

District 31: Lisa Valerio-Nowc (R),

Bill Sowerby (D)

District 32: Pamela Hornberger (R)

District 33: Jeff Yaroch (R)

District 38: Kathy Crawford (R),

Amy McCusker (D)

District 41: Martin Howrylak (R)

District 45: Ted Golden (D)

District 46: Joe Kent (R)

Wayne County Commission

District 1: John Steininger (R), DaRell Reed (D)

District 2: Jewel Ware (D)

District 3: Anam Miah (D)

District 4: Ilona Varga (D)

District 5: Irma Clark-Coleman (D)

District 6: Carl Baxter (D)

District 8: Diane Webb (D)

District 9: Terry Marecki (R)

District 12: Susan Mason (D)

District 15: Patricia Hartig (D)

Wayne County Sheriff

Benny Napoleon (D)

Wayne County Clerk

Cathy Garrett (D)

Wayne County Register of Deeds

Bernard Youngblood (D)

Wayne County Treasurer

Eric Sabree (D)

Oakland County Executive

Vicki Barnett (D)

Oakland County Commission

District 2: Bob Hoffman (R)

District 5: Tom Berman (R), Julia Pulver (D)

District 7: Christine Long (R)

District 12: Shelley Goodman Taub (R)

District 13: Max Rohtbart (R)

District 17: Regina Brim (R)

Oakland County Clerk

Tina Barton (R), Lisa Brown (D)

Macomb County Commission

District 4: Joseph Romano (R)

District 5: Roger Lonsway (R),

Robert Mijac (D)

District 8: Phil Kraft (R)

District 9: Mark Brewer (D)

District 10: Linda Burns Torp (R),

Jimmy Gwizdala (D)

District 13: Joe Sabatini (R)

Macomb Public Works Commissioner

Candice Miller (R)

Macomb County Sheriff

Phil Neumeyer (R)

Macomb County Clerk

Sylvia Grot (R), Paul Wojno (D)

Macomb County Treasurer

Larry Rocca (R)

Visit DetroitNews.com/opinion for our

2016 primary election endorsements