Endorsements for Legislature from Wayne County

The Detroit News

Term limits have left open a number of seats in Wayne County’s state legislative delegation. Here are our recommendations for the House of Representatives and Senate from Wayne:


1st District (east side Detroit): Incumbent Tanisha Yancey of Haper Woods is the best qualified of the two Democrats seeking the nomination. She faces Shaun Malloy in the primary. Republican Mark Corcoran and Libertarian Gregory Creswell are unopposed.

2nd District (Detroit): Incumbent Bertie Scott is term-limited. Former Marine Joe Tate has a degree in public policy from Michigan State University, where he also played football. The Spartan holds advanced degrees from MSU and the University of Michigan, and also played two years in the NFL. Now he wants to serve his community, and voters of the district would be fortunate to have him as their voice in Lansing. He faces Carla L. Tinsley-Smith, Latisha Johnson, Regina Jones, Willie Bell, Carol Bans and Kinda Makini Anderson. Republican John Palffy is unopposed.

3rd District (northeast Detroit): Incumbent Wendell Byrd should hold the nomination. He challenged by fellow Democrats Omar Proctor, China Cochran, John Cromer and Christopher Owens. Republican Dolores Brodersen is running unopposed.

4th District (Detroit, Hamtramck) Fourteen Democratic candidates are seeking this open seat being vacated by term-limited Mary Ann Robinson. The best of the bunch is Syed Rob, who holds an MBA from Lawrence Tech. The Hamtramck resident would focus on public safety and economic development in the Legislature. Republican Howard Wethington is alone on the Republican side of the ballot.

5th District (Detroit): Incumbent Democrat Fred Durhal is term limited. Mark Payne, the former chief of staff for Rep. Fred Durhal, is seeking to replace his boss in the Legislature. He makes a good case for the nomination. Payne strikes reasonable positions on taxes, infrastructure and the limited use of targeted tax breaks to spur development. Cynthia A. Johnson, Mark Murphy Jr., Rita Ross, Jermain Tobey and Cliff Woodards II are also seeking the Democratic nomination. Republican Dorothy Patterson is unopposed.

6th District (Detroit, River Rouge, Ecorse): Ricardo White is the best of a crowded field of 10 Democrats seeking to replace Stephanie Chang, who is running for the Senate. The former legislative staffer and longtime political activist holds a degree in public administration. Linda Sawyer is the sole Republican in the race.

7th District (Detroit, Highland Park): Incumbent LaTanya Garrett is seeking a third and final term and should be nominated. She’s opposed by Democrats Najanava Harvey-Quinn, Jeff Jones and Elene Robinson. Neither of the Republicans in the race returned their candidate questionairre.

8th District (northwest Detroit): Incumbent Sherry Gay-Dagnogo is seeking a third-term, and should get the nomination. She’s challenged in the primary by LaSonya Beaver, George Etheridge, Jasmine Henry and Seydi Sarr. Republican Valerie Parker is unopposed.

9th District (Detroit, parts of Dearborn): Donald Stuckey II of Detroit is a Dearborn High School special education paraprofessional who would bring a unique education perspective to the Legislature. Also running in the Democratic primary are Gary Pollard and Karen Whitsett. Republican James Stephens is unopposed. Incumbent Sylvia Santana is running for the senate.

10th District (Detroit, Redford): James Brenner of Redford Township offers creative ideas for broader funding mechanisms for infrastructure and education. He’s preferable to incumbent Leslie Love. Also running in the Democratic primary are Tyson Kelley and Rhonda Barley. Republican William Brang of Redford is preferable to Articia Bomer. Libertarian Jeremy Morgan is unopposed.

11th District (Garden City, Inkster, parts of Dearborn Heights, Livonia and Westland): Incumbent Jewell Jones is a promising young leader who should get the nod over Randy Walker. Republican James Townsend is unopposed.

12th District (Taylor, Romulus, Van Buren): Alexandria Taylor of Romulus, an attorney and chair of the city charter commission, is our choice over Alex Garza, Lauretha Shelton and Tomeka Boles in the Democratic primary to replace incumbent Erika Geiss. Republican Michelle Bailey is unopposed.

13th District (Dearborn Heights, Allen Park, Southgate) Incumbent Frank Liberati should be renominated over challenger Asmaa Alhasani. Republican Annie Spencer is unopposed.

14th District (Lincoln Park, Riverview, Wyandotte): Democratic incumbent Cara Clemente should be renominated over Mark Kremer. Republican Darrell Stasik is unopposed.

15th District (Dearborn): Republican Doug Mitchell and incumbent Democrat Abdullah Hammoud are unopposed.

16th District (Wayne, Westland) Mike McDermott, a small business recruiter and Wayne State University graduate, is the best choice in the Democratic primary, which also includes Kevin Coleman, Bill Johnson and Jacob Johnson. Republican Jody Rice-White is unopposed. Incumbent Robert Kosowski is term limited.

19th District (Livonia): School Board Member Dan Centers is richly experienced, has worked as a teacher and a college development officer, and is deeply rooted in the community. The other Democrat in the race is Laurie Pohutsky. Republican Brian Meakin is unopposed.

20th District (Northville, Plymouth): Incumbent Republican Jeff Noble and Democrat Matt Koleszar are unopposed.

21st District (Canton): Republican Darian Moore and incumbent Democrat Kristy Pagan are unopposed.

23rd District (Romulus, Brownstown): Democrat Incumbent Darrin Camilleri and Republican Michael Frazier are unopposed.


1st District (Detroit, parts of Downriver): Rep. Stephanie Chang is seeking to move to the Senate, and should get the nomination. She’s challenged in the Democratic primary by James Cole Jr., Nicholas Rivera, Stephanie Roehm, Bettie Cook Scott and Alberta Tinsley Talabi. Republican Pauline Montie is unopposed.

2nd District (eastern Detroit, Hamtramck, Grosse Pointes): Adam Hollier is the pick of a lengthy field. He offers reasonable solutions for infrastructure and school funding, and is an advocate for supporting job creation and economic development with tax incentives. On the Republican side, John Hauler is the preferred choice. The seat is currently vacant due to the resignation of Bert Johnson.

3rd District (West Detroit, Dearborn, Melvindale): State Rep. Sylvia Santana has earned the opportunity to move into the Senate. She has shown a willingness to act independently, and was one of only four Detroit Democrats to support the insurance reform bill. The other Democrats in the race are Gary Woronchak, Terry Burrell and Anita Belle. Republican Kathy Stecker is unopposed. Incumbent Morris Hood III is term limited.

4th District (Detroit, Southgate, Allen Park): Rep. Fred Durhal should get the Democratic nomination. He’s been an effective lawmaker. Other Democrats in the race are Marshall Bullock and Carron Pinkins. Republican Angela Savino is unopposed. Incumbent Ian Conyers is running for Congress.

5th District (Detroit, Garden City, Dearborn Heights): Incumbent Dave Knezek has earned the right to seek a second term. He’s opposed by Democrat Betty Jean Alexander. Republican DeShawn Wilkins is unopposed.

6th District (Westland, Taylor): Democratic State Rep. Erica Geiss faces a solid challenger in Robert Kosowski, but her experience as a lawmaker will be useful in a Senate depleted by term limits. Republican Brenda Jones is unopposed. Incumbent Hoon Yung-Hopgood is term limited.

7th District: (Livonia, Plymouth): Incumbent Laura Cox is unopposed, as is Libertarian Joseph LeBlanck. Of the Democrats, school teacher Dayna Polehanki gets the nod over Ghulam Qadir.