Macomb County voters will join the rest of Michigan in filling every legislative seat this fall. Here are our recommendations for nominees to the state Legislature from Macomb County in the Aug. 7 primary:

District 18 (St. Clair Shores): Neither incumbent Democrat Kevin Hertel nor Republican challenger Kyle McKee are opposed in the primary.

District 22 (Warren, Roseville): Democratic incumbent Rep. John Chirkun is unopposed, as are challengers Republican Arthur Blundell and Libertarian Matt Kuehnel

District 24 (Mt. Clemens, Macomb Township): Republican incumbent Steve Marino and Democratic challenger Laura Winn are unopposed.

District 25 (Sterling Heights): Incumbent Democratic Rep. Henry Yanez is term limited. Republican Jazmine Early and Democrat Nate Shannon are unopposed.

District 28 (Warren, Center Line): Incumbent Democrat Patrick Green should be renominated. He faces a challenge from Lori Stone. Republican Aaron Delikta and Liberarian Ryan Manier are unopposed.

District 30 (Utica, Shelby Township, Sterling Heights): Republican incumbent Diana Farrington is unopposed. Of the two Democrats seeking to challenge her, Wisam Naoum, a finance attorney, is the better choice over John Spica.

District 31 (Clinton Township, Fraser): Democratic incumbent William Sowerby should be renominated over challenger Michelle Robertson. In the Republican primary, Lisa Valerio-Nowc, a librarian, is the preferred choice over Catherine Osinski Dinka.

District 32 (New Baltimore and vicinity): Republican incumbent Pamela Hornberger is unopposed, as is her Democratic challenger, Paul Manley.

District 33 (Richmond, Macomb Township): Republican incumbent Jeff Yaroch is unopposed, as is his Democratic opponent, Andrea Geralds.

District 36 (Shelby Township, Romeo and vicinity): Incumbent Republican Peter Lucido is term limited. Five Republicans are seeking to replace him: Scott Csazak, Frank Lans, Karen Potchynok-Lund, Tom Stanis and Douglas Wozniak. Of the group, doctor and small business owner Potchnyok-Lund is the best choice. Of the two Democrats, Robert Murphy is the better choice over Kristopher Pratt.

State Senate

All four of Macomb County’s state senators are term limited.

District 8 (St. Clair Shores): Three Democrats and two Republicans are seeking to fill the seat being vacated by Republican Sen. Jack Brandenburg. Peter Lucido has been a productive state representative and should get the GOP nomination over Ken Goike. On the Democratic side, psychologist and veteran Patrick Biange is the most reasonable candidate and should get the nod over Raymond Filipek and Paul Francis.

District 9 (Warren, Roseville): Democratic Sen. Steven Bieda is term limited and running for Macomb County clerk. Neither of the Republicans seeking the nomination, Jeff Bonnell and Fred Kuplicki, returned their questionnaires. On the Democratic side, former state Rep. Paul Wojno is the preferred choice over Kristina Lodovisi.

District 10 (Sterling Heights, Utica, Clinton Township): Republican incumbent Tony Rocca is term limited. Of the two Republicans, Michael MacDonald, who has a PhD in health care administration, is the preferred choice over Joseph Bogdan and Michael Shallal. On the Democrat ballot, Henry Yanez and Libertarian Mike Saliba are unopposed.

District 25 (New Baltimore and St. Clair County): Incumbent Republican Sen. Phil Pavlov is term limited. Republican Dan Lauwers and Democrat Debbie Bourgois are unopposed.

Read or Share this story: