Recommendations for the midterm election

The Detroit News
The Detroit News is making recommendations in a number of state and local races on the Nov. 6 election ballot.

The Detroit News is making recommendations in a number of state and local races on the Nov. 6 election ballot.

To maximize our resources and give our readers a more balanced and comprehensive view of the candidates and issues, The News is using a different approach this year.

Some of the selections will bear the traditional endorsement of the newspaper’s editorial board. In other races, we'll offer the personal recommendations of our editorial columnists, Nolan Finley and Ingrid Jacques, along with columns from an alternative viewpoint.

As always, our mission is to provide our readers with the resources to help them make informed choices on Election Day.

Endorsements of Detroit News Editorial Board:


Elizabeth Clement

Megan Cavanagh


Wayne County

District 1 (Detroit, parts of Downriver): Stephanie Chang - D

District 2 (Eastern Detroit, Hamtramck, Grosse Pointes): Adam Hollier - D

District 3 (west Detroit, Dearborn, Melvindale): Sylvia Santana - D

District 4 (Detroit, Southgate, Allen Park): Marshall Bullock - D

District 5 (Detroit, Dearborn Heights):DeShawn Wilkins - R

District 6 (Westland, Taylor): Erica Geiss - D

District 7 (Livonia, Plymouth): Laura Cox - R

Oakland County

District 11 (Southfield, Farmington Hills, Oak Park): Jeremy Moss - D

District 12 (Auburn Hills, Bloomfield Hills, Oxford, Lake Orion): Mike McCready - R

District 13 (Berkley, Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Clawson, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Royal Oak and Troy): Marty Knollenberg - R

District 14 (Holly and vicinity): Ruth Johnson - R

District 15 (Novi, White Lake, Commerce, West Bloomfield): Jim Runestad - R

Macomb County

District 8 (St. Clair Shores): Peter Lucido - R

District 9 (Warren, Roseville): Paul Wojno - D

District 10 (Sterling Heights, Utica, Clinton Township): Michael MacDonald - R

District 25 (New Baltimore and St. Clair County): Dan Lauwers - R


Wayne County

District 1 (Detroit, Grosse Pointes, Harper Woods): Tenisha Yancey - D

District 2 (Detroit): Joe Tate - D

District 3 (northeast Detroit):Wendell Byrd - D

District 4 (Detroit, Hamtramck): Isaac Robinson - D

District 5 (Detroit): Cynthia Johnson - D

District 6 (Detroit, River Rouge, Ecorse): Tyrone Carter - D

District 7 (Detroit, Highland Park): LaTanya Garrett - D

District 8 (northwest Detroit): Sherry Gay-Dagnogo - D

District 9 (Detroit, parts of Dearborn): Karen Whitsett - D

District 10 (Detroit, Redford Twp.): Leslie Love - D

District 11 (Garden City, Inkster and parts of Dearborn Heights): Jewel Jones - D

District 12 (Taylor, Romulus, Van Buren): Alex Garza - D

District 13 (Southgate, Allen Park):Frank Liberati - D

District 14 (Lincoln Park, Riverview, Wyandotte): Cara Clemente - D

District 15 (Dearborn):Abdullah Hammoud - D

District 16  (Wayne, Westland): Kevin Coleman - D

District 19 (Livonia): Brian Meakin - R

District 20 (Northville, Plymouth): Jeff Noble - R

District 21 (Canton):Kristy Pagan - D

District 22  (Romulus, Brownstown): Darrin Camilleri - D

Macomb County

District 18 (St. Clair Shores): Kevin Hertel - D

District 22 (Warren, Roseville): John Chirkun - D

District 24 (Mt. Clemens, Macomb Township): Steve Marino - R

District 25 (Sterling Heights): Nate Shannon - D

District 28 (Warren, Center Line): Lori Stone - D

District 30 (Utica, Shelby Township, Sterling Heights): Diana Farrington - R

District 31 (Clinton Township, Fraser): William Sowerby - D

District 32 (New Baltimore and vicinity): Pamela Hornberger - R

District 33 (Richmond, Macomb Township): Jeff Yaroch - R

District 36 (Shelby Township, Romeo and vicinity): Douglas Wozniak - R

Oakland County

26th District (Madison Heights, Royal Oak): Jim Ellison - D

27th District (Hazel Park, Huntington Woods, Oak Park): Robert Wittenberg - D

29th District (Auburn Hills, Pontiac, West Bloomfield Township): Timothy Carrier - R

35th District (Southfield, Lathrup Village, Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms, Franklin): Kyra Harris Bolden - D

37th District (Farmington, Farmington Hills): Christine Greig - D

38th District (Novi, Northville, Walled Lake): Kathy Crawford - R

39th District (Commerce, West Bloomfield, Walled Lake): Ryan Berman - R

40th District (Bloomfield Hills, Birmingham):  David Wolkinson - R

41st District (Troy): Doug Tietz - R

43rd District (Clarkston and vicinity): Andrea Schroeder - R

44th District (Milford, White Lake, Highland, Waterford): Matt Maddock - R

45th District (Rochester and vicinity): Michael Webber - R

46th District (Oxford, Lake Orion): John Reilly - R

51st District (Swartz Creek, Fenton, Flushing, Linden): Mike Mueller - R

State Education Boards:

Mike Miller

Dave Dutch

Andrea Fischer Newman

Andrew Richner

David Nicholson

Diane Dunaskiss

Richard Zeile

Tami Carlone

Detroit Charter Commission:

Emily Dabish

Carol Weaver

Michael Griffie

Laura Hughes

 Quincy Jones

Richard Mack

 Chase Cantrell

Karissa Holmes

Byron Osbern

Ballot Proposals:

Proposal 1 - Regulate Marijuana Like Alcohol


Proposal 2 - Voters Not Politicians


Proposal 3 - Promote the Vote


Wayne County Community College District Replacement Operating Millage Proposal


Recommendations in races:

For Governor:

Finley and Jacques: Bill Schuette

Schwarz: Gretchen Whitmer

For Senate:

Finley and Jacques: John James

Peters: Debbie Stabenow

For Attorney General: 

Finley and Jacques: Tom Leonard

Napoleon: Dana Nessel

For Secretary of State:

Finley and Jacques: Jocelyn Benson

Miller: Mary Treder Lang

For U.S. Congress:

6th District

Finley and Jacques: Fred Upton

7th District

Finley and Jacques: Tim Walberg

8th District

Finley and Jacques: Mike Bishop

Hadley: Elissa Slotkin

11th District

Finley and Jacques: Lena Epstein

Greimel: Haley Stevens