$5 for 3 months. Save 83%.
$5 for 3 months. Save 83%.

Ferris State, Michigan Tech in Division II tournament

The Detroit News

A pair of Michigan college football teams hope the postseason is worth the wait.

Ferris State (11-0) and Michigan Tech (9-1) are two of 24 teams that will vie for the NCAA Division II championship, unveiled Sunday afternoon.

Ferris State, one of four No. 1 seeds, is making its first tournament appearance since 1996. Michigan Tech, meanwhile, ends a postseason drought that dates to 2004.

Ferris State, the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference champion, is the top seed in Super Regional Four, and earned a first-round bye. It will host a second-round game Nov. 29, facing the winner between Colorado Mines (10-1) and GLIAC South Division champion Ohio Dominican (9-1).

Michigan Tech is a No. 3 seed in Super Regional Four, and will open the tournament hosting Angelo State (8-2) on Saturday.

The tournament's other top seeds are Concord (11-0), Ouachita Baptist (10-0), and Lenoir-Rhyne (11-0). The championship is 4 p.m. Dec. 20 at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kansas.

Adrian lands Division III berth

Adrian College (8-2) will open at Mount Union (10-0) on Saturday in the Division III tournament.

Adrian earned an automatic berth as the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association champion.

Mount Union is last season's national runner-up, losing to Wisconsin-Whitewater in the championship, and won the national title in 2012.

Wisconsin-Whitewater and Mount Union have won every national title since 2005.