MSU’s Valentine, Oakland’s Felder candidates for major award

The Detroit News
Denzel Valentine

Michigan State’s Denzel Valentine and Oakland’s Kay Felder are among 20 players on the midseason watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Also on the list is Monte Morris of Flint Beecher and Iowa State. He was the 2013 winner of the Mr. Basketball award in Michigan.

The trophy is presented annually by the United States Basketball Writers Association to the nation’s top college player. Robertson, of Cincinnati, was the first winner in 1959.

No MSU player has won the award. Trey Burke was Michigan’s only winner, in 2013.

Valentine leads MSU in scoring (18.4) and assists (6.6), and is second in rebounds (7.9). Felder also leads the Grizzlies in scoring (25.3) and assists (8.9).


Grayson Allen, Duke

Kris Dunn, Providence

Kay Felder, Oakland

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Demetrius Jackson, Notre Dame

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Jalen Jones, Texas A&M

Sheldon McClellan, Miami

Monte Morris, Iowa State

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Gary Payton II, Oregon State

Wayne Selden Jr., Kansas

Ben Simmons, LSU

Melo Trimble, Maryland

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga