Chesson, Butt, Davis, Rush on Maxwell watch list

The Detroit News
Jehu Chesson

Michigan receiver Jehu Chesson and tight end Jake Butt, Western Michigan receiver Corey Davis and Central Michigan quarterback Cooper Rush have made the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the college Player of the Year since 1937. Alabama running back Derrick Henry won the award last year.

Chesson, a fifth-year senior from St. Louis, caught 50 passes for 764 yards and nine TD last season. He was named All-Big Ten and Michigan MVP.

Butt, a senior from Pickerington, Ohio, was All-Big Ten and All-American last year after catching 51 passes for 654 yards and three TD.

Davis, a senior from Wheaton, Ill., is the active leader in receiving yards in FBS with 3,785. He needs 400 yards to become the career leader in MAC history.

Rush, a senior from Charlotte, Mich., completed 324-of-489 passes for 3,848 yards and 25 TD last year. He has 9,354 yards and 67 TD passes in three seasons at CMU.

Detroit News Big Ten football primer