UM's Gary, WMU's Franklin make Walter Camp watch list

Angelique S. Chengelis
The Detroit News
Rashan Gary (3)

Michigan defensive coordinator Don Brown this summer called Rashan Gary the best defensive end he's ever seen, and now the sophomore is on the Walter Camp Player of the Year preseason "watch list."

Jarvion Franklin, Western Michigan's senior running back, is the only other in-state player to make the list. Alabama has four players on the watch list, while Ohio State has three.

Desmond Howard in 1991 and Charles Woodson in 1997 are the only Michigan players to win the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, the fourth-oldest individual college football award.

There will be 10 semifinalists named in mid-November, and the award, voted on by 130 FBS head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced Dec. 7.

The 2016 Walter Camp winner was Louisville QB Lamar Jackson.