Knoxville, Tenn. — Georgia forward Yante Maten, a Pontiac native who starred at Bloomfield Hills, is the Associated Press’ Southeastern Conference men’s basketball player of the year.

Maten and Tennessee forward Grant Williams were unanimous first-team picks on the all-SEC team announced Tuesday. Tennessee’s Rick Barnes was named coach of the year and Alabama freshman guard Collin Sexton was selected as newcomer of the year by the 15-person media panel.

Auburn’s Bryce Brown and Arkansas’ Daryl Macon joined Maten, Williams and Sexton as first-team all-SEC selections.

The second team includes Auburn teammates Jared Harper and Mustapha Heron, Arkansas’ Jaylen Barford, Florida’s Chris Chiozza and Missouri’s Kassius Robertson.

Maten leads the SEC in scoring (19.4) and ranks second in the league in rebounding (8.8). Those statistics enabled him to earn player of the year honors even though Georgia (16-14, 7-11) tied for 11th place in the league standings.

This marks the first time an AP SEC player of the year has come from a team that ended the regular season below .500 in conference play since 1971, when Mississippi’s Johnny Neumann won the award while the Rebels went 6-12 in league competition.

There have been four AP SEC players of the year since then whose teams finished the regular season .500 in SEC play: Georgia’s Dominique Wilkins (1981), Tennessee’s Dale Ellis (1983), Vanderbilt’s Dan Langhi (2000 co-player of the year) and Georgia’s Kentavious Caldwell-Pope (2013).

Georgia is the No. 12 seed in this week’s SEC Tournament in St. Louis and will face 13th-seeded Vanderbilt in Wednesday’s first-round action. Georgia coach Mark Fox is hopeful Maten will be ready for that game after the 6-foot-8 senior took a shot to the jaw Saturday in a 66-61 loss at No. 13 Tennessee.

Maten was the choice of 11 of the 15 voters on the media panel. Three voters selected Harper as player of the year and one opted for Williams.

FIRST TEAM (listed alphabetically)

Bryce Brown, Auburn, G, 6-3, Jr., Stone Mountain, Georgia

Daryl Macon, Arkansas, G, 6-3, Sr., Little Rock, Arkansas

u-Yante Maten, Georgia, F, 6-8, Sr., Pontiac

Collin Sexton, Alabama, G, 6-3, Fr., Mableton, Georgia

u-Grant Williams, Tennessee, F, 6-7, Soph., Charlotte, North Carolina


Jaylen Barford, Arkansas, G, 6-3, Sr., Jackson, Tennessee

Chris Chiozza, Florida, G, 6-0, Sr., Memphis, Tennessee

Jared Harper, Auburn, G, 5-10, Soph., Mableton, Georgia

Mustapha Heron, Auburn, G, 6-5, Soph., Waterbury, Connecticut

Kassius Robertson, Missouri, G, 6-3, Sr., Toronto, Ontario

Player of the year: Yante Maten, Georgia

Coach of the year: Rick Barnes, Tennessee

Newcomer of the year: Collin Sexton, Alabama



Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.