UM's Devin Bush named Walter Camp first-team All-American

The Detroit News
Michigan defensive coordinator Don Brown, left, and linebacker Devin Bush were at the forefront of Michigan's highly ranked defense.

Michigan junior linebacker Devin Bush was named first-team All-America on Thursday night by the Walter Camp Foundation, which dubs itself the oldest All-America team.

The Walter Camp Foundation has named All-American teams for 129 years. Voting is done by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and their sports-information directors.

Bush, who missed out on winning the Butkus Award (top linebacker) to LSU's Devin White on Thursday, is a Walter Camp All-American for a second consecutive season. He was second-team last year.


Also honored Thursday were Michigan senior defensive lineman Chase Winovich and Michigan State senior defensive lineman Kenny Willekes, who were named to the All-American second team.

Walter Camp honorees will be celebrated at an awards banquet Jan. 19 at Yale in New Haven, Conn.

Here are Thursday's individual award winners:

Walter Camp Award (best player): Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Maxwell Award (outstanding player): Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Associated Press player of the year: Kyler Murray, Oklahoma

Davey O'Brien Award (best quarterback): Kyler Murray, Oklahoma

Doak Walker Award (best running back): Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin

Fred Biletnikoff Award (best receiver): Jerry Jeudy, Alabama

Mackey Award (best tight end): T.J. Hockenson, Iowa

Butkus Award (best linebacker): Devin White, LSU

Jim Thorpe Trophy (best defensive back): Deandre Baker, Georgia

Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player): Josh Allen, Kentucky

Bronko Nagurski Award (best defensive player): Josh Allen, Kentucky

Lou Groza Award (best place-kicker): Andre Szmyt, Syracuse

Ray Guy Award (best punter): Braden Mann, Texas A&M

HOTY Award (holder of the year): Mac Loudermilk, Central Florida