Michigan's Ben Bredeson, MSU's Joe Bachie on AP preseason All-America first team

Detroit News staff and wires
Michigan State linebacker Joe Bachie was named to the Associated Press preseason All-America first team.

Michigan senior guard Ben Bredeson and Michigan State senior linebacker Joe Bachie were named to The Associated Press preseason All-America team, unveiled Tuesday.

 Bredeson on Monday was named team captain for the second straight season, joining Carlo Kemp and Khaleke Hudson. Bachie helped lead a Michigan State defense that last season ranked No. 1 in the country against the run. He had a team-high 102 tackles to go with 8.5 tackles for loss, five pass breakups and three forced fumbles.

Michigan State senior defensive end Kenny Willekes was a second-team selection.

Michigan senior guard Ben Bredeson was named to the Associated Press preseason All-America first team on Tuesday.

Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence headlines the AP's preseason All-America team, and he has two teammates from the top-ranked Tigers with him on the first team.

Lawrence, the first freshman to quarterback to lead a team to a national championship in more than 30 years, was joined on the first-team offense by Clemson running back Travis Etienne in the list. Clemson linebacker Isaiah Simmons was a first-team selection on defense. Clemson and No. 2 Alabama tied for the most first-team selections with three.

Wide receiver Jerry Jeudy, an All-American last season, was selected to the preseason first team, along with defensive lineman Raekwon Davis and linebacker Dylan Moses.

Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, the Heisman Trophy runner-up, was selected to the second team.

Led by Alabama, the Southeastern Conference placed eight players on the first team, one more than the Big Ten.

The AP All-America team is sponsored by Regions Bank this season, the first time the venerable player honor roll that dates to 1925 has ever had a presenting sponsor.

More: Michigan No. 7, MSU No. 18 in Associated Press preseason college football poll

More: Detroit News preseason college football Top 25 poll

First team


Quarterback – Trevor Lawrence, sophomore, Clemson.

Running back – Jonathan Taylor, junior, Wisconsin; Travis Etienne, junior, Clemson.

Tackles – Andrew Thomas, junior, Georgia; Walker Little, junior, Stanford.

Guards – Shane Lemieux, senior, Oregon; Ben Bredeson, senior, Michigan.

Center – Tyler Biadasz, junior, Wisconsin.

Tight end – Albert Okwuegbunam, junior, Missouri.

Wide receivers – Jerry Jeudy, junior, Alabama; Tylan Wallace, junior, Oklahoma State.

All-purpose player – Rondale Moore, sophomore, Purdue.

Kicker – Andre Szmyt, sophomore, Syracuse.


Ends – Chase Young, junior, Ohio State; A.J. Epenesa, junior, Iowa.

Tackles – Derrick Brown, senior, Auburn; Raekwon Davis, senior, Alabama.

Linebackers – Dylan Moses, junior, Alabama; Isaiah Simmons, junior, Clemson; Joe Bachie, senior, Michigan State.

Cornerbacks – Bryce Hall, senior, Virginia; Paulson Adebo, junior, Stanford.

Safeties – Grant Delpit, junior, LSU; Andre Cisco, sophomore, Syracuse.

Punter – Braden Mann, senior, Texas A&M.

Second team


Quarterback – Tua Tagovailoa, junior, Alabama.

Running backs – D’Andre Swift, junior, Georgia; Eno Benjamin, junior, Arizona State.

Tackles – Trey Adams, senior, Washington; Calvin Throckmorton, senior, Oregon.

Guards – Tommy Kraemer, senior, Notre Dame; John Simpson, senior, Clemson.

Center – Nick Harris, senior, Washington.

Tight end – Jared Pinkney, senior, Vanderbilt.

Wide receivers – Laviska Shenault Jr., junior, Colorado; Justyn Ross, sophomore, Clemson.

All-purpose player – CeeDee Lamb, junior, Oklahoma.

Kicker – Rodrigo Blankenship, senior, Georgia.


EndsKenny Willekes, senior, Michigan State; Julian Okwara, senior, Notre Dame.

Tackles – Leki Fotu, senior, Utah; Marvin Wilson, junior, Florida State.

Linebackers – Paddy Fisher, junior, Northwestern; Evan Weaver, senior, California; Shaquille Quarterman, senior, Miami.

Cornerbacks – Kristian Fulton, senior, LSU; CJ Henderson, junior, Florida.

Safeties – Alohi Gillman, junior, Notre Dame; Jordan Fuller, senior, Ohio State.

Punter – James Smith, junior, Cincinnati.