Antoine Davis tabbed Player of Year; Oakland picked fourth, Detroit Mercy eighth in Horizon League

The Detroit News
Detroit Mercy's Antoine Davis was voted the Horizon League preseason player of the year on Tuesday.

Coming off one of the most impressive rookie seasons in Horizon League history, Detroit Mercy guard Antoine Davis was voted the conference’s preseason player of the year on Tuesday.

Davis broke the Horizon League’s freshman scoring record and became the conference’s first first-year player to surpass 700 points en route to earning freshman of the year honors. He averaged 26.1 points per game, which ranked No. 3 in the country, and topped Stephen Curry’s NCAA record for most 3-pointers in a season by a freshman with 132 deep balls.

Davis, who also became the first freshman to lead the league in scoring, is the first Titan to earn the preseason honor since Ray McCallum in 2012.

Davis was joined on the preseason All-Horizon League first team by Northern Kentucky’s Jalen Tate, UIC’s Tarkus Ferguson, Wright State’s Loudon Love and Oakland’s Xavier Hill-Mais, who was a first-team selection last season after averaging 18.3 points and 7.2 rebounds.

Wright State was the overwhelming favorite to win the regular-season title, garnering 28 of 36 first-place votes by the league’s coaches, media and sports information directors.

Oakland received one first-place vote and is picked to finish fourth, four spots ahead of Detroit Mercy in the 10-team league.

Northern Kentucky, last season’s tournament and co-regular season champion, and UIC rounded out the top three in the preseason poll.

Preseason poll

(First-place votes in parentheses)


1. Wright State 350 (28)

2. Northern Kentucky 295 (5)

3. UIC 280 (1)

4. Oakland 229 (1)

5. Green Bay 207

6. Youngstown State 186

7. Milwaukee 146

8. Detroit Mercy 133

9. IUPUI 92

10. Cleveland State 62 (1)


Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy


Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy

Jalen Tate, Northern Kentucky

Xavier Hill-Mais, Oakland

Tarkus Ferguson, UIC

Loudon Love, Wright State


JayQuan McCloud, Green Bay

Tyler Sharpe, Northern Kentucky

Marcus Ottey, UIC

Bill Wampler, Wright State

Darius Quisenberry, Youngstown State