Big Ten's top return man will receive Rodgers-Dwight Trophy

Associated Press
Nebraska All-American Johnny Rodgers is shown in  October 1971.

Rosemont, Ill. — The Big Ten's top performer on kickoffs, punt returns or both will receive the Rodgers-Dwight Return Specialist of the Year trophy beginning this season.

The conference on Tuesday announced the new award named in honor of former return specialists Johnny Rodgers of Nebraska and Tim Dwight of Iowa.

Rodgers and Dwight will be recognized Friday at the Iowa-Nebraska game in Lincoln, Nebraska. Rodgers was a two-time All-American who won the Heisman Trophy in 1972. Dwight was a two-time first-team All-American as a punt returner, earning consensus All-America honors in 1997.

The Big Ten also will expand its all-conference teams, adding a third team to first-team, second-team and honorable mention selections.

Wide receiver Tim Dwight of the Iowa Hawkeyes in 1996.