Four Spartans, two Wolverines make AP All-Big Ten first team

The Detroit News
Aaron Burbridge

Michigan State placed four players on the Associated Press All-Big Ten first team, announced Tuesday, while Michigan had two representatives.

Quarterback Connor Cook, offensive tackle Jack Conklin, center Jack Allen and receiver Aaron Burbridge are Spartan first-teamers. They were joined on the first team by Michigan tight end Jake Butt and cornerback Jourdan Lewis. Iowa cornerback Desmond King of Detroit East English also made the first team.

On the second team, Michigan's Jabrill Peppers was honored as one of the safeties and also the all-purpose player. Also making the second team were guard Brian Allen, defensive end Shilique Calhoun and defensive tackle Malik McDowell of Michigan State.

Peppers was also named Big Ten Newcomer of the Year. Ohio State running back Ezekiel Elliott was named Offensive Player of the year while the top defensive honor went to Penn State end Carl Nassib. Iowa's Kirk Ferentz was named Coach of the Year.




QB — Connor Cook, Michigan State, 6-4, 220, Sr.

RB — Ezekiel Elliott, Ohio State, 6-0, 225, Jr.

RB —Jordan Howard, Indiana, 6-1, 230, Jr.

T — Jack Conklin, Michigan State, 6-6, 325, Jr.

T— Taylor Decker, Ohio State, 6-8, 315, Sr.

G — Pat Elflein, Ohio State, 6-3, 300, Jr.

G — Jordan Walsh, Iowa, 6-4, 290, Sr.

C — Jack Allen, Michigan State, 6-2, 296, Sr.

WR — Aaron Burbridge, Michigan State, 6-1, 208, Sr.

WR —Alex Erickson, Wisconsin, 6-0, 197, Sr.

TE — Jake Butt, Michigan, 6-6, 250, Jr.

All-purpose — Will Likely, Maryland, 5-7, 175, Jr.

PK — Griffin Oakes, Indiana, 5-10, 200, So.


E — Joey Bosa, Ohio State, 6-6, 275, Jr.

E — Carl Nassib, Penn State, 6-7, 272, Sr.

T — Adolphus Washington, Ohio State, 6-4, 290, Sr.

T — Austin Johnson, Penn State, 6-4, 323, Jr.

LB — Joe Schobert, Wisconsin, 6-2, 236, Sr.

LB — Anthony Walker, Northwestern, 6-1, 235, So.

LB — Joshua Perry, Ohio State, 6-4, 254, Sr.

CB — Desmond King, Iowa, 5-11, 200, Jr.

CB — Jourdan Lewis, Michigan, 5-10, 175, Jr.

S — Vonn Bell, Ohio State, 5-11, 205, Jr.

S — Michael Caputo, Wisconsin, 6-1, 206, Sr.

P — Sam Foltz, Nebraska, 6-1, 200, Jr.

Jabrill Peppers



QB — C.J. Beathard, Iowa, 6-2, 209, Jr.

RB — Justin Jackson, Northwestern, 5-11, 190, So.

RB — Saquon Barkley, Penn State, 5-11, 222, Fr.

T — Jason Spriggs, Indiana, 6-7, 305, Sr.

T —Tyler Marz, Wisconsin, 6-7, 325, Sr.

G — Brian Allen, Michigan State, 6-2, 298, So.

G — Dan Feeney, Indiana, 6-4, 310, Jr.

C — Austin Blythe, Iowa, 6-3, 290, Sr.

WR — Jordan Westerkamp, Nebraska, 6-0, 195, Jr.

WR — Chris Godwin, Penn State, 6-1, 208, So.

TE — Dan Vitale, Northwestern, 6-2, 235, Sr.

All-purpose — Jabrill Peppers, Michigan, 6-1, 208, So.

PK — Drew Brown, Nebraska, 5-11, 180, So.


E — Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State, 6-5, 250, Sr.

E — Yannick Ngakoue, Maryland, 6-2, 255, Jr.

T — Malik McDowell, Michigan State, 6-6, 275, So.

T — Maliek Collins, Nebraska, 6-2, 300, Jr.

LB — Raekwon McMillan, Ohio State, 6-2, 240, So.

LB —Josey Jewell, Iowa, 6-2, 230, So.

LB — Darron Lee, Ohio State, 6-2, 235, So.

CB — Will Likely, Maryland, 5-7, 175, Jr.

CB —Nick VanHoose, Northwestern, 6-0, 190, Sr.

S — Jabrill Peppers, Michigan, 6-1, 208, So.

S — Clayton Fejedelem, Illinois, 6-1, 195, Sr.

P — Cameron Johnston, Ohio State, 5-11, 195, Jr.

Offensive Player of the Year: RB Ezekiel Elliott, Ohio State

Defensive Player of the Year: DE Carl Nassib, Penn State

Newcomer of the Year: S Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

Coach of the Year: Kirk Ferentz, Iowa


Bob Asmussen, Champaign-Urbana (Illinois) News-Gazette; Lee Barfknecht, Omaha (Nebraska) World-Herald; Steve Batterson, Quad City (Iowa) Times; Nick Baumgardner, (Ann Arbor, Michigan); Mike Carmin, Lafayette (Indiana) Journal & Courier; Angelique Chengelis, Detroit News; Pete DiPrimio, Fort Wayne (Indiana) News Sentinel; Ryan Dunleavy, Asbury Park (New Jersey) Press; Dave Eanet, WGN Radio, Chicago; Daniel Gallen, Baltimore Sun; Andy Greder, St. Paul (Minnesota) Pioneer Press; Teddy Greenstein, Chicago Tribune; Mike Griffith, (East Lansing, Michigan); Zach Heilprin, WTLX Radio (ESPN Wisconsin), Madison, Wisconsin; Chad Leistikow, Des Moines (Iowa) Register; Matt Loveless, WAND-TV, Decatur, Illinois; Tim May, Columbus (Ohio) Dispatch; Zach Osterman, Indianapolis Star; Greg Pickel, PennLive (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania); Jim Polzin, (Madison, Wisconsin); Joe Rexrode, Detroit Free Press; Keith Sargeant; New Jersey Advance Media; Nate Sandell, KSTP Radio (1500 ESPN), St. Paul, Minnesota; Steven M. Sipple, Lincoln (Nebraska) Journal Star; Audrey Snyder, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette; Roman Stubbs, Washington Post.