Big Ten adds Notre Dame hockey

The Detroit News
Notre Dame is moving from Hockey East to the Big Ten.

Notre Dame is officially a member of the Big Ten in hockey.

The Irish will be the seventh team in the conference and will begin play with the 2017-18 season.

Current Big Ten teams are Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Penn State and Ohio State.

Notre Dame is currently one of 12 teams in Hockey East.

Notre Dame hockey has a long history of competing with Big Ten programs and we’re pleased to renew those rivalries as part of conference hockey competition,” said Big Ten deputy commissioner Brad Traviolia. “The Big Ten continues to grow the sport of hockey in our conference and the addition of Notre Dame as a sport affiliate assists in that goal.”

Michigan and Notre Dame meet Friday at 5:30 p.m. (ESPNU) in an NCAA Midwest Region game at U.S. Bank Arena in Cincinnati.