Dantonio, Harbaugh on watch list for coach of the year

The Detroit News

Michigan's Jim Harbaugh and Michigan State's Mark Dantonio are on the preseason watch list for the Dodd Trophy, which goes to the college football coach of the year.

Dantonio was a finalist for the award last season along with Florida's Jim McElwain, Stanford's David Shaw and Clemson's Dabo Sweeney.

The preseason watch list includes 24 coaches representing Power Five conferences, Notre Dame and the American Athletic Conference.

Among those from the Big Ten are Ohio State's Urban Meyer, Wisconsin's Paul Chryst and Iowa's Kirk Ferentz.

Those nominated were considered based on each program’s graduation rate, commitment to service and charity in the community, projected success for the upcoming season and Academic Progress Rate.

Additional watch lists – adding to or narrowing the field – will be released throughout the fall.

The winner of the 2016 Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.


Paul Chryst, Wisconsin

Mark Dantonio, Michigan State

Larry Fedora, North Carolina

Kirk Ferentz, Iowa

Jimbo Fisher, Florida State

Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State

Jim Harbaugh, Michigan

Mark Helfrich, Oregon

Clay Helton, USC

Tom Herman, Houston

Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

Jim McElwain, Florida

Urban Meyer, Ohio State

Les Miles, LSU

Jim Mora, UCLA

Gary Patterson, TCU

Chris Petersen, Washington

Nick Saban, Alabama

David Shaw, Stanford

Kirby Smart, Georgia

Bob Stoops, Oklahoma

Kevin Sumlin,Texas A&M

Dabo Swinney, Clemson

Kyle Whittingham, Utah