UM's Peppers gets nod as Big Ten defensive player of the year

The Detroit News
Jabrill Peppers

Michigan linebacker / safety Jabrill Peppers was voted preseason defensive player of the year in a poll conducted by, which surveyed media members in Big Ten markets.

Players were given three points for a first-place vote, two for second and one for third.

Peppers, a junior from Paramus, N.J., had 13 first-place votes and 65 points to edge Iowa cornerback Desmond King, who is from Detroit East English.

Michigan State defensive lineman Malik McDowell (Southfield) was third and Michigan cornerback Jourdan Lewis (Detroit Cass Tech) was fifth.

In voting for offensive player of the year, Ohio State quarterback J.T. Barrett won easily, and Michigan tight end Jake Butt tied for sixth.

Big Ten media members also predicted that Ohio State would win the conference championship.


1. Michigan LB/S Jabrill Peppers, 65 points (13 first-place votes)

2. Iowa CB Desmond King, 60 (16)

3. Michigan State DT Malik McDowell, 35 (4)

4. Ohio State LB Raekwon McMillan, 33 (2)

5. Michigan CB Jourdan Lewis, 21 (2)

6. Northwestern LB Anthony Walker, 18 (2)

7. Michigan DE Chris Wormley, 1

8. Maryland CB William Likely, 1

Media pick Ohio State to win Big Ten


1. Ohio State QB J.T. Barrett, 110 points (34 first-place votes)

2. Penn State RB Saquon Barkley, 48 (3)

3. Iowa QB C.J. Beathard, 33

4. Northwestern RB Justin Jackson, 11

5. Wisconsin RB Corey Clement, 9

6. Michigan TE Jake Butt, 5 (1)

6. Nebraska QB Tommy Armstrong, 5

8. Indiana G Dan Feeney, 4 (1)

9. Michigan State RB LJ Scott, 3

10. Michigan WR Jehu Chesson, 3

11. Ohio State C Pat Elflein, 2

12. Ohio State RB Curtis Samuel, 1