Michigan State forward Mitchell Lewandowski was named the Big Ten freshman of the year in conference hockey awards announced Tuesday.

Lewandowski, of Clarkston, finished his freshman season with 19 goals, tied for most in the Big Ten during the regular season.

“To be able to come in as a freshman and score 19 goals in today’s college game is really impressive,” Michigan State coach Danton Cole said of Lewandowski. “He played a critical part on our top line and had a great year.”

Lewandowski was named a Big Ten start of the week four times in 2017-18.

Meanwhile, Michigan junior forward Cooper Marody, a Brighton native who was the Big Ten’s scoring champion, earned first-team All-Big Ten honors.

Michigan is 20-14-3 and is awaiting word on its NCAA Tournament fate.

Michigan State finished the season 12-21-2.



Jake Evans, F, Notre Dame

Jordan Gross, D, Notre Dame

Trevor Hamilton, D, Penn State

Tanner Laczynski, F, Ohio State

Cooper Marody, F, Michigan

Cale Morris, G, Notre Dame


Tony Calderone, F, Michigan

Taro Hirose, F, Michigan State

Quinn Hughes, D, Michigan

Mason Jobst, F, Ohio State

Sasha Larocque, D, Ohio State

Sean Romeo, G, Ohio State


Trent Frederic, F, Wisconsin

Carson Gatt, D, Michigan State

Wyatt Kalynuk, D, Wisconsin

Hayden Lavigne, G, Michigan

Mitchell Lewandowski, F, Michigan State

Ryan Lindgren, D, Minnesota

Tyler Sheehy, F, Minnesota

Andrew Sturtz, F, Penn State

Peter Tischke, D, Wisconsin

Matthew Weis, F, Ohio State


Quinn Hughes, D, Michigan

Wyatt Kalynuk, D, Wisconsin

Mitchell Lewandowski, F, Michigan State

Casey Mittelstadt, F, Minnesota

Tommy Nappier, G, Ohio State

Linus Weissbach, F, Wisconsin

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Cale Morris, G, Notre Dame

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Trevor Hamilton, D, Penn State

GOALTENDER OF THE YEAR: Cale Morris, Notre Dame

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR:Mitchell Lewandowski, F, Michigan State

COACH OF THE YEAR: Steve Rohlik, Ohio State

SCORING CHAMPION: Cooper Marody, F, Michigan