MSU to host Louisville, UM at N.C. State in Big Ten/ACC Challenge

Matt Charboneau
The Detroit News
Michigan State and Louisville will renew acqaintences in the Big  Ten/ACC Challenge.

Michigan State and Louisville will square off once again on the basketball court, just months after the Spartans beat the Cardinals to reach the Final Four.

Michigan State and Louisville will meet in next season's Big Ten/ACC Challenge on Dec. 2 at the Breslin Center in East Lansing, ESPN announced on Wednesday. Michigan will play at N.C. State on Dec. 1. Game times will be announced at a later date.

Michigan State defeated Louisville, 76-70 in overtime, to win the East Region of the NCAA Tournament and reach the Final Four for the seventh time in coach Tom Izzo's career. It improved Izzo's record against Louisville coach Rick Pitino to 2-1 with each meeting coming in the NCAA Tournament.

The Spartans are 4-5 all-time against the Cardinals and it would be only the second meeting between the teams at the Breslin Center. Michigan State beat Louisville, 85-71, in 1994.

Michigan State is 6-9 in the challenge and has lost three straight, including a 79-78 overtime loss at Notre Dame last season. The last victory for the Spartans came in 2011 in a 65-49 home win over Florida State.

Michigan is 6-8 in the challenge after winning at Syracuse last season. The meeting with N.C. State will be the fourth in the series. The Wolverines are 2-1 in those three games with the last win coming in 2012, a 79-72 victory at Crisler Center.

The Big Ten, which lost the first 10 challenges, won last year's, 8-6, and has now won or tied for the title the last six seasons straight. Due to unbalanced leagues, Georgia Tech of the ACC will not take part in this year's challenge.


Monday, Nov. 30

Clemson at Minnesota

Wake Forest at Rutgers

Tuesday, Dec. 1

Michigan at N.C. State

Maryland at North Carolina

Virginia at Ohio State

Purdue at Pittsburgh

Northwestern at Virginia Tech

Miami at Nebraska

Wednesday, Dec. 2

Louisville at Michigan State

Indiana at Duke

Wisconsin at Syracuse

Notre Dame at Illinois

Florida State at Iowa

Penn State at Boston College