RBs Holmes, London are co-starters on first MSU depth chart

Matt Charboneau
The Detroit News
Gerald Holmes

Chicago – With Michigan State coach Mark Dantonio set to kick off the Big Ten's media days on Thursday afternoon, the Spartans released their first depth chart of the season with the start of practice just more than a week away.

Some light was shed on a couple of the most hotly contested position battles – cornerback and running back. Junior Darian Hicks and fifth-year senior Arjen Colquhoun are listed as co-starters at the field corner spot while junior Demetrious Cox is the starter at the boundary corner.

Hicks was the starter next to Trae Waynes last year before losing his job later in the season while Colquhoun and junior Jermaine Edmondson – who is listed No. 3 behind Hicks and Colquhoun – had solid springs. Cox, who is backed up by redshirt freshman Vayante Copeland, could also see time at safety.

At running back, it remains much as it was in the spring in the race to replace Jeremy Langford. Sophomore Gerald Holmes and redshirt freshman Madre London are listed as the co-starters, but incoming freshman LJ Scott – no true freshman are included on the first depth chart – and recently reinstated Delton Williams could factor in, as well.

Much of the rest of the depth chart was as expected, though fifth-year senior DeAnthony Arnett being listed as the co-starter at the Z receiver position with senior Macgarrett Kings Jr. is a sign the coaching staff is hoping Arnett finally lives up to his lofty expectations.

On defense, junior Riley Bullough is No. 1 at middle linebacker while sophomore Jon Reschke, who has battled numerous injuries, is fourth.

Michigan State's players report for preseason camp on Aug. 7 with the first practice taking place on Aug. 8.


(Does not include freshmen, transfers or first-year walkons.)


X WR -- Aaron Burbridge, AJ Troup

LT -- Jack Conklin, Dennis Finley

LG -- Brian Allen, Benny McGowan

C -- Jack Allen, Brian Allen

RG -- Donavon Clark, Brandon Clemons

RT -- Kodi Kieler, Miguel Machado

TE -- Josiah Price, Jamal Lyles

Z WR -- Macgarrett Kings Jr. OR DeAnthony Arnett, Monty Madaris

FL -- R.J. Shelton, Matt Macksood

QB -- Connor Cook, Tyler O'Connor

FB -- Trevon Pendleton, Collin Lucas

TB -- Gerald Holmes OR Madre London, Nick Tompkins


DE -- Shilique Calhoun, Montez Sweat

DT -- Joel Heath, Damon Knox

NT -- Malik McDowell, Enoch Smith Jr.

DE -- Lawrence Thomas, Demetrius Cooper

STAR LB -- Darien Harris, T.J. Harrell

MIKE LB -- Riley Bullough, Shane Jones

SAM LB -- Ed Davis, Chris Frey

FC -- Darian Hicks OR Arjen Colquhoun, Jermaine Edmondson

FS -- Montae Nicholson, Mark Meyers

SS -- RJ Williamson, Matt Morrissey

BC -- Demetrious Cox, Vayante Copeland


KO -- Kevin Cronin, Michael Geiger

PK -- Michael Geiger, Kevin Cronin

P -- Jake Hartbarger, Tyler O'Connor

LS -- Taybor Pepper, Dylan Chmura

HOLD -- Matt Macksood, Connor Cook