MSU's Smith named to FWAA 75th anniversary team

Matt Charboneau
The Detroit News
Bubba Smith is pictured in a game against Michigan in 1967.

East Lansing – Former Michigan State defensive end Bubba Smith was named to the Football Writers Association of America's 75th Anniversary All-America Team on Thursday.

Smith was named to the third team defense.

Michigan cornerback Charles Woodson was named to the first team, while receiver Anthony Carter and defensive back Dave Brown were named to the third team.

The FWAA 75th Anniversary All-America Team celebrates the association's All-America teams from near the end of World War II through the 2014 season. The FWAA, which was founded in 1941, has picked an annual All-America team since the 1944 season, making it the second-longest continuously selected team in major college football.

Smith is one of only three players in Spartans football history to have his jersey number (No. 95) retired. He earned three letters at Michigan State from 1964-66, while playing for head coach Duffy Daugherty. In his final two seasons, the 6-foot-7, 280-pound defensive end helped the Spartans to a combined record of 19-1-1, including back-to-back Big Ten and National Championships in 1965 and 1966.

Smith, who died in 2011 at the age of 66, was named first-team All-American by nine different organizations, including the FWAA and the Associated Press. He then became the first selection overall in the 1967 NFL Draft by the Baltimore Colts. He spent nine years in the NFL, including five seasons in Baltimore (1967-71), two in Oakland (1973-74) and two more in Houston (1975-76). Smith was a member of the 1970 Colts team that defeated Dallas, 16-13, in Super Bowl V (Jan. 17, 1971). He made back-to-back Pro Bowl appearances in 1970-71 and was named First-Team All-Pro by AP and Pro Football Writers in 1971.

In 1988, Smith as inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Smith became a member of the inaugural class inducted into the MSU Athletics Hall of Fame in 1992.



QB Roger Staubach, Navy

RB Archie Griffin, Ohio State

RB Herschel Walker, Georgia

WR Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh

WR Jerry Rice, Mississippi Valley State

TE Keith Jackson, Oklahoma

OL John Hannah, Alabama

OL Orlando Pace, Ohio State

OL Will Shields, Nebraska

OL Ron Yary, USC

C Dave Rimington, Nebraska


DT Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma

DT Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska

DE Leon Hart, Notre Dame

DE Ted Hendricks, Miami (Fla.)

LB Tommy Nobis, Texas

LB Mike Singletary, Baylor

LB Derrick Thomas, Alabama

DB Ronnie Lott, USC

DB Deion Sanders, Florida State

DB Jack Tatum, Ohio State

DB Charles Woodson, Michigan


P Ray Guy, Southern Miss

K Kevin Butler, Georgia

RS Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska


QB Tim Tebow, Florida

RB Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh

RB Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State

WR Fred Biletnikoff, Florida State

WR Randy Moss, Marshall

TE Mike Ditka, Pittsburgh

OL Bill Fralic, Pittsburgh

OL John Hicks, Ohio State

OL Calvin Jones, Iowa

OL Jonathan Ogden, UCLA

C Chuck Bednarik, Penn


DT Merlin Olsen, Utah State

DT Randy White, Maryland

DE Hugh Green, Pittsburgh

DE Bruce Smith, Virginia Tech

LB Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma

LB Dick Butkus, Illinois

LB Luke Kuechly, Boston College

DB Champ Bailey, Georgia

DB Kenny Easley, UCLA

DB Jerry Gray, Texas

DB Ed Reed, Miami (Fla.)


P Russell Erxleben, Texas

K Mason Crosby, Colorado

RS Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame


QB Tommie Frazier, Nebraska

RB Bo Jackson, Auburn

RB Doak Walker, SMU

WR Anthony Carter, Michigan

WR Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech

TE Gordon Hudson, BYU

OL Barrett Jones, Alabama

OL Willie Roaf, Louisiana Tech

OL Jerry Sisemore, Texas

OL Dean Steinkuhler, Nebraska

C Jim Ritcher, N.C. State


DT Steve Emtman, Washington

DT Reggie White, Tennessee

DE Bubba Smith, Michigan State

DE Jack Youngblood, Florida

LB Jack Ham, Penn State

LB Lee Roy Jordan, Alabama

LB Chris Spielman, Ohio State

DB Dre Bly, North Carolina

DB Dave Brown, Michigan

DB Troy Polamalu, USC

DB Roy Williams, Oklahoma


P Rohn Stark, Florida State

K Tony Franklin, Texas A&M

RS Derek Abney, Kentucky