UM rallies to beat MSU, opens vs. Northwestern in Big Ten tournament

The Detroit News
Michael Brdar had three hits and drove in Michigan's winning run.

Michael Brdar collected three hits, including the game-winning single in the 10th, as Michigan rallied to defeat Michigan State, 2-1, Saturday in the regular-season finale at McLane Stadium in East Lansing.

Michigan (42-13) moves on as the No. 2 seed in the Big Ten tournament where it will play No. 7 Northwestern 1:30 p.m. Wednesday in Bloomington, Ind.

The Wolverines enter on a winning note as Brdar's base hit to right scored Jake Bivens from second with two outs in the top of the 10th. Bivens started the rally with two outs, singling on an 0-2 pitch off Spartans right-handed reliever Ethan Landon.

UM's Johnny Slater followed through with a single to keep the rally alive. The Wolverines scratched a run in the top of the ninth to tie it one-all.

Drew Lugbauer led off with a single to right when Ako Thomas came on as a pinch-runner. Thomas advanced to second on a fielder's choice, stole third and scampered home when Nick Poirier grounded unassisted to first for the second out.

Until then, MSU (29-23) clinged to a one-run lead on Ando Royce's RBI single to center in the fourth that scored Matt Byars.

UM's Jackson Lamb (3-0) gave up two hits and walked three in two innings to earn the win. William Tribucher walked one and struck one in an inning pitch to get the save. MSU's Landon (3-2) was tagged for one run on three hits in two-thirds an inning in getting the loss.

The Spartans did not qualify for the eight-team Big Ten tournament.

Big Ten tournament

When: Wednesday-Sunday

Where: Bart Kaufman Field, Bloomington, Ind.

Format: Double-elimination; top eight teams in final regular-season standings qualify.

TV: All games on Big Ten Network



Game 1: 3 seed Minnesota vs. 6 seed Indiana, 10 a.m.

Game 2: 2 seed Michigan vs. 7 seed Northwestern, 1:30 p.m.

Game 3: 1 seed Nebraska vs. 8 seed Purdue, 5 p.m.

Game 4: 4 seed Maryland vs. 5 seed Iowa, 8:30 p.m.


Game 5: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 10 a.m.

Game 6: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 1:30 p.m.

Game 7: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 5 p.m.

Game 8: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 8:30 p.m.


Game 9: Loser Game 7 vs. Winner Game 5, 1 p.m.

Game 10: Loser Game 8 vs. Winner Game 6, 5 p.m.


Game 11: Winner Game 10 vs. Winner Game 7, 10 a.m.

Game 12: Winner Game 9 vs. Winner Game 8, 1:30 p.m.

Game 13 (if necessary): Winner Game 11 vs. Loser Game 11, 5 p.m.

Game 14 (if necessary): Winner Game 12 vs. Loser Game 12, 8:30 p.m.


Championship: Winner Game 11/13 vs. Winner Game 12/14, 2 p.m.