Simone Jardim resigns as MSU women's tennis coach

Matt Charboneau
The Detroit News

East Lansing – Michigan State women’s tennis coach Simone Jardim has resigned after eight seasons, the university announced on Wednesday.
Jardim, who led the Spartans from 2009-2016, plans on relocating to Florida with her family.

“I am grateful for Coach Jardim’s time and commitment to the Michigan State women’s tennis program these past eight seasons,” athletics director Mark Hollis said. “Under her leadership, the team has continued to improve on the court while maintaining excellence in the classroom and the community. Her contributions have provided a foundation for the program on which we will continue to build. I wish Simone the best in her future endeavors. We will begin an immediate national search for a new head coach.”

This past season, Jardim led Michigan State to its first victory in the Big Ten tournament since 1993 with a win over Indiana. Senior Emily Meyers became the program leader in singles wins this season, amassing 74 wins in four years and passing another Jardim-coached player in Marina Bohrer. Athena Trouillot, who just completed her junior season, is already third in school history with 68 wins.

“The past eight years have been a great journey,” Jardim said. “I love my Spartan family and will always be a part of it in one way or another. I am excited and look forward to the continued growth of the program. I will always cherish the relationships and bonds that I have created in my time here. There will always be a special place in my heart for all of my players. I will surely miss them.

Two of Michigan State’s three most successful seasons have come under Jardim. The 2014 team posted 17 wins, which ranks second all-time, and the 2015 team’s 16 wins rank third in program history. Both of those squads went on to win five matches in Big Ten play, which is the most since 1991 when MSU claimed seven league matches.

Simone Jardim

Jardim’s overall record was 92-106, but she finished 46-30 from 2014-16 and had three consecutive winning seasons (17-9 in 2014, 16-9 in 2015, 13-12 in 2016), a first for the program since 1987-89.