MSU great Kirk Gibson makes College Football Hall of Fame

Detroit News staff and wires
Kirk Gibson throws out the first pitch before the Tigers' home opener at Comerica Park on April 8, 2016.

Michigan State star receiver Kirk Gibson, who went on to a MLB career mostly with the Detroit Tigers, has been elected to the College Football Hall of Fame, it was announced Monday.

Gibson, 59, now a broadcaster for the Tigers, is the ninth MSU player to make the Hall of Fame.

Gibson finished his Spartan career in 1978 as the school leader in career receptions (112), touchdown receptions (24) and receiving yards (2,347). He still holds the MSU record for career receiving average at 21.0 yards.

In 1978, Gibson had 42 receptions for a team-high 806 yards and earned All-American honors.

Gibson played for four teams during his 17-year MLB career. He helped the Tigers win the World Series in 1984 and was named National League MVP in 1988 with the Los Angeles Dodgers.

The 2017 Hall of Fame Class will be inducted at the 60th National Football Foundation awards dinner on Dec. 5 in New York.



Bob Crable - LB, Notre Dame (1978-81)

Marshall Faulk - RB, San Diego State (1991-93)

Kirk Gibson - WR, Michigan State (1975-78)

Matt Leinart - QB, Southern California (2003-05)

Peyton Manning - QB, Tennessee (1994-97)

Bob McKay - OT, Texas (1968-69)

Dat Nguyen - LB, Texas A&M (1995-98)

Adrian Peterson - RB, Georgia Southern (1998-2001)

Mike Ruth - NG, Boston College (1982-85)

Brian Urlacher - DB, New Mexico (1996-99)


Danny Ford - 122-59-5, Clemson (1978-89), Arkansas (1993-97)

Larry Kehres - 332-24-3, Mount Union (Ohio) (1986-2012)

Steve Spurrier - 228-89-2, Duke (1987-89), Florida (1990-2001), South Carolina (2005-15)