LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE

Michigan will not host a night game this fall at Michigan Stadium, it was announced Thursday.

The Wolverines held a night game last season against Penn State and played Notre Dame in 2011 and 2013 under the lights at Michigan Stadium.

The Big Ten did confirm Michigan's game at Minnesota on Oct. 31 will be featured in primetime at 8 p.m. Eastern, on ABC, ESPN or ESPN2. Michigan's game at Maryland will be played in primetime and broadcast on the Big Ten Network.

Michigan opted not to host a night game because of the number of primetime kickoffs already set this season. Michigan opens the season at night at Utah on Thursday, Sept. 3.

Michigan interim athletic director Jim Hackett said on April 4 during the spring football game that he believes Michigan's future holds multiple night games each season at Michigan Stadium.

"That will be upon us one day, not this year," Hackett said at the time. "We had 17 night games in six years, three at home. I'll tell you, I love the idea of night games in our future. Second thing is, our destiny is more night games, the viewership is higher, so there's a high desire to have Michigan in primetime. The third thing is, we've got the most unique setting in the country for fan experience. We have a city that shows up. Certainty there are going to be more in our future."

2015 MICHIGAN SCHEDULE

Thu., Sept. 3, at Utah

Sat., Sept. 12, Oregon State

Sat., Sept. 19, UNLV

Sat., Sept. 26, Brigham Young

Sat., Oct. 3, at Maryland

Sat., Oct. 10, Northwestern

Sat., Oct. 17, Michigan State

Sat., Oct. 31, at Minnesota

Sat., Nov. 7, Rutgers

Sat., Nov. 14, at Indiana

Sat., Nov. 21, at Penn State

Sat., Nov. 28, Ohio State

LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE