Michigan's Carol Hutchins was named Big Ten Coach of the Year and UM's Megan Betsa is the conference pitcher of the year, it was announced Wednesday.

Hutchins led the Wolverines (48-6, 21-2 Big Ten) to their eighth straight conference championship. She has been named Big Ten Coach of the Year six times in the last eight seasons and 15 times overall.

Betsa, a sophomore right-hander from McDonough, Ga., is 24-4 this season with a 1.46 ERA and .166 opponent batting average. She has 260 strikeouts in 162.2 innings.

In Big Ten games, Betsa was 13-2 with a 1.35 ERA and .155 opponent batting average.


Player of the Year: Sara Groenewegen, So., Minnesota

Pitcher of the Year: Megan Betsa, So., Michigan

Freshman of the Year: Sabrina Rabin, OF, Northwestern

Coach of the Year: Carol Hutchins, Michigan


Allie Bauch, Jr., 2B, Illinois

Carly Thomas, Fr., OF, Illinois

Megan Blank, Sr., SS, Iowa

Lindsey Schmeiser, Jr., UT, Maryland

Megan Betsa, So., P, Michigan

Kelly Christner, So., OF, Michigan

Sierra Romero, Jr., 2B, Michigan

Haylie Wagner, Sr., P, Michigan

Sara Groenewegen, So., P, Minnesota

Danielle Parlich, Fr., 2B, Minnesota

Tyler Walker, Sr., SS, Minnesota

MJ Knighten, So., 3B, Nebraska

Steph Pasquale, Sr., C, Nebraska

Kiki Stokes, Jr., OF, Nebraska

Andrea Filler, Jr., SS, Northwestern

Sabrina Rabin, Fr., OF, Northwestern

Erika Leonard, Jr., 1B, Ohio State

Kelsey Jenkins, Fr., 3B, Wisconsin


Alyssa Gunther, So., 1B, Illinois

Shannon Bustillos, Sr., C, Maryland

Erin Pronobis, Sr., OF, Maryland

Sierra Lawrence, Jr., OF, Michigan

Abby Ramirez, So., SS, Michigan

Lauren Sweet, Sr., C, Michigan

Lea Foerster, Fr., OF, Michigan State

Sam Macken, So., 3B, Minnesota

Kaitlyn Richardson, Sr., 1B, Minnesota

Emily Lockman, Jr., P, Nebraska

Andrea DiPrima, Sr., OF, Northwestern

Caitlin Conrad, Sr., OF, Ohio State

Maddy McIntyre, Jr., SS, Ohio State

Macy Jones, Jr., OF, Penn State

Lexi Knief, Jr., OF, Penn State

Lilly Fecho, Jr., P, Purdue

Jackie Bates, Sr., OF, Rutgers

Alyssa Landrith, Sr., P, Rutgers


(Two pitchers due to voting tie.)

P: Haylie Wagner, Sr., Michigan

P: Emily Lockman, Jr., Nebraska

C: Shannon Bustillos, Sr., Maryland

1B: Kaitlyn Richardson, Sr., Minnesota

2B: Danielle Parlich, Fr., Minnesota

SS: Megan Blank, Sr., Iowa

3B: Shelby Miller, So., Penn State

OF: Kelly Christner, So., Michigan

OF: Sierra Lawrence, Jr., Michigan

OF: Maria Van Abel, Sr., Wisconsin