Watch live: Gov. Gretchen Whitmer addresses state on COVID-19 response

UM wins, MSU loses Big Ten baseball tournament openers

The Detroit News
View Comments
Michigan's Carmen Benedetti celebrates his RBI and double at second base in the sixth inning.

Minneapolis — Mike Shawaryn struck out nine, Kevin Smith singled in the go-ahead run in the fifth inning and Maryland beat Michigan State 2-1 on Wednesday night in the Big Ten tournament.

Brandon Lowe had two of six hits for the fourth-seeded Terrapins (37-20). Kevin Mooney struck out two in two scoreless innings of relief. Maryland will face top-seeded Illinois on Thursday.

BOX SCORE: Maryland 2, Michigan State 1

The fifth-seeded Spartans came up empty in three innings with runners in scoring position, twice ended by strikeouts from Shawaryn (12-2). He allowed six hits and one earned run through seven innings.

Mark Weist's RBI double in the third inning scored Cam Gibson to give Michigan State a 1-0 lead. Weist and Gibson combined for four of the Spartans' seven hits.

The Spartans (33-22) will play eighth-seeded Nebraska on Thursday.

Michigan 4, Indiana 1

Outfielder Johnny Slater's three-run homer in the bottom of the second inning lifted No. 3 Michigan to a 4-1 victory over No. 6 Indiana in the opener of the Big Ten tournament Wednesday at Target Field in Minneapolis.

BOX SCORE: Michigan 4, Indiana 1

Jackson Glines helped pace the Wolverines' eight-hit attack, going 3-for-4. Carmen Benedetti went 2-for-4, driving in UM's final run in the bottom of sixth.

Jacob Cronenworth (2 innings pitched), Brett Adcock (6.1) and Mac Lozer (0.2) combined to hold the Hoosiers (32-21) to one run on four hits.

UM (34-23) advances to play No. 2 Iowa (39-14) at 6 p.m. Thursday.


(Times listed are Eastern.)


Game 1: Michigan 4, Indiana 1

Game 2: Iowa 3, Ohio State 2

Game 3: Illinois 3, Nebraska 2

Game 4: Maryland 2, Michigan State 1


Game 5: Indiana vs. Ohio State, 10 a.m. (BTN Plus)

Game 6: Nebraska vs. Michigan State, 2 p.m. (BTN Plus)

Game 7: Michigan vs. Iowa, 6 p.m. (BTN)

Game 8: Illinois vs. Maryland, 10 p.m. (BTN)


Game 9: Game 5 winner vs. Game 7 loser, 4:30 p.m. (BTN)

Game 10: Game 6 winner vs. Game 8 loser, 8:30 p.m. (BTN)


Game 11: Game 8 winner vs. Game 9 winner, 10 a.m. (BTN)

Game 12: Game 7 winner vs. Game 10 winner, 2 p.m. (BTN)

Game 13 (if necessary): Game 11 winner vs. Game 11 loser, 6 p.m. (BTN)

Game 14 (if necessary): Game 12 winner vs. Game 12 loser, 10 p.m. (BTN)


Championship: Game 11/13 winner vs. Game 12/14 winner, 2 p.m. (BTN)

View Comments