Show Thumbnails
Show Captions

Michigan won’t have to wait long for a rematch with Villanova.

The program announced Tuesday that the defending national champion Wildcats will host the Wolverines on Nov. 14 in the 2018 Gavitt Tipoff Games.

Michigan is 0-1 in the Gavitt Games and lost at home to Xavier in the event’s inaugural year in 2015.

This year's installment, though, will have some added juice after Michigan fell one game short of the program's second national title in a 79-62 loss to Villanova on April 2 at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

However, many of the stars will be missing in the rematch with Michigan's Moritz Wagner (draft), Muhammad-Ali Abdur-Rahkman (graduation) and Duncan Robinson (graduation) all gone as well as Villanova's Jalen Brunson (draft) and Mikal Bridges (draft).

Michigan's Charles Matthews and Villanova's Omari Spellman and Donte DiVincenzo, the Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four, have all declared for the NBA Draft without an agent and could return to play in the second meeting.

"Returning to the Gavitt Games is an exciting early season opportunity for us, our fans and really all of college basketball," Michigan coach John Beilein said in a statement. "When you are able to have a rematch of the previous season's national title game, I think that is good for the sport, despite how different the makeup of the two teams may be.

"(Villanova coach) Jay (Wright)'s program continues to be one of the premier teams in the country and to face the defending national champions will not only make for a great college basketball environment but a good opportunity to compete at the highest level right out of the gate."

The Gavitt Games, which will run through 2022, is an annual eight-game series that’s played between the Big Ten and Big East conferences early in the season. Every Big Ten team is required to participate a minimum of four times.

The rest of the event’s matchups are Wisconsin at Xavier, Georgetown at Illinois, Seton Hall at Nebraska, Marquette at Indiana, Penn State at DePaul, Ohio State at Creighton and St. John’s at Rutgers. Tip-off times and TV designations will be announced at a later date.

Michigan State, Iowa, Purdue, Northwestern, Minnesota and Maryland will not be participating from the Big Ten, while Providence and Butler will be absent from the Big East.

Michigan also announced on Tuesday it will play in the Hall of Fame Tip-Off Tournament in November.

Gavitt Games schedule

Tuesday, Nov. 13

Wisconsin at Xavier

Georgetown at Illinois

Wednesday, Nov. 14

Michigan at Villanova

Seton Hall at Nebraska

Marquette at Indiana

Thursday, Nov. 15

Penn State at DePaul

Ohio State at Creighton

Friday, Nov. 16 

St. John's at Rutgers