LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE

Michigan already knew its Big Ten matchups. Now it knows when they’ll take place.

The Big Ten announced the game dates for the 2018-19 season on Tuesday and Michigan will open conference play against Purdue on Dec.1 at Crisler Center.

It'll mark the second straight year every Big Ten team will play two early conference games — one at home and one on the road. Michigan will travel to Northwestern on Dec. 4.

With the league moving from an 18-game to a 20-game conference schedule for the first time, Michigan is guaranteed to face rival Michigan State twice in the regular season — something that hasn’t happened in two of the last three years. The Wolverines will welcome the Spartans on Feb. 24 before making the trip to East Lansing on March 9 in the regular-season finale.

More: Rugged nonconference slate kicks off MSU hoops schedule

The two rivalry games will be part of a tough four-game stretch to end Big Ten play for the Wolverines, sandwiched around a home contest against Nebraska and road game at Maryland.

In addition to Michigan State, Michigan will also have double-plays against Indiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Northwestern, Penn State and Wisconsin. In total, six of Michigan's 10 Big Ten home games will be played on a Saturday or Sunday.

Game times and TV designations for the Big Ten matchups will be announced at a later date.

In addition to the Big Ten slate, Michigan also released the rest of its nonconference schedule, which will be highlighted by rematches against Villanova (Nov. 14, Gavitt Games) and North Carolina (Nov. 28, Big Ten/ACC Challenge).

The Wolverines will get to make themselves comfortable at Crisler Center from late November to early January. They will play 10 of 12 at home, including sixth straight in their final four nonconference games and two Big Ten games when conference play resumes after the New Year.

Michigan’s 2018-19 schedule

Fri. Nov. 2 vs. Northwood (exhibition)

Tues. Nov. 6 vs. Norfolk State

Sat. Nov. 10 vs. Holy Cross

Wed. Nov. 14 at Villanova (Gavitt Games)

Sat. Nov. 17 vs. George Washington (Mohegan Sun)

Sun. Nov. 18 vs. Providence/South Carolina (Mohegan Sun)

Fri. Nov. 23 vs. Chattanooga

Wed. Nov. 28 vs. North Carolina (Big Ten/ACC Challenge)

Sat. Dec. 1 vs. Purdue

Tues. Dec. 4 at Northwestern

Sat. Dec. 8 vs. South Carolina

Sat. Dec. 15 vs. Western Michigan

Sat. Dec. 22 vs. Air Force

Sun. Dec. 30 vs. Binghamton

Thurs. Jan. 3 vs. Penn State

Sun. Jan 6. vs. Indiana

Thurs. Jan. 10 at Illinois

Sun. Jan. 13 vs. Northwestern

Sat. Jan. 19 at Wisconsin

Tues. Jan. 22 vs. Minnesota

Fri. Jan. 25 at Indiana

Tues. Jan. 29 vs. Ohio State

Fri. Feb. 1 at Iowa

Tues. Feb. 5 at Rutgers

Sat. Feb. 9 vs. Wisconsin

Tues. Feb. 12 at Penn State

Sat. Feb. 16 vs. Maryland

Thurs. Feb. 21 at Minnesota

Sun. Feb. 24 vs. Michigan State

Thurs. Feb. 28 vs. Nebraska

Sun. March 3 at Maryland

Sat. March 9 at Michigan State

March 13-17 Big Ten Tournament Chicago, Ill.

jhawkins@detroitnews.com

twitter.com/jamesbhawkins

LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE