Michigan baseball ousted by Nebraska in Big Ten tournament semis

Detroit News wire services
Jordan Nwogu and the Wolverines fell a win short of reaching Sunday's Big Ten tournament title game.

Omaha, Neb. — Spencer Schwellenbach had three hits and drove in three runs, and Robbie Palkert threw 5.1 innings of strong relief as Nebraska advanced to the Big Ten Tournament championship game with a 7-3 win over Michigan on Saturday night.

The fifth-seeded Cornhuskers (31-21) bounced back from an 18-8 loss to the second-seeded Wolverines (41-18) earlier Saturday to reach the title game Sunday for the first time since 2014. They’ll play fourth-seeded Minnesota or seventh-seeded Ohio State.

BOX SCORE (Game 1): Michigan 18, Nebraska 8

BOX SCORE (Game 2): Nebraska 7, Michigan 3

Jaxon Hallmark’s RBI double broke a 3-all tie in the sixth inning. The Huskers scored two runs on walks, one on a hit batsman and another on an error. Michigan pitchers walked a season-high 13.

Palkert (5-3) left after Michigan loaded the bases with two outs in the ninth. Colby Gomes got Jimmy Kerr to pop out to end the game and earn his 12th save. Benjamin Keizer (4-1) took the loss.

In the first game between the teams, Jordan Nwogu had three hits and four RBIs for the Wolverines. Michigan scored seven runs on eight hits in the top of the first inning, including three before Nebraska recorded an out.

The Cornhuskers fell behind 9-0 before rallying with two runs in the fourth and fifth innings.

Big Ten tournament

At TD Ameritrade Park, Omaha, Neb.

All games on Big Ten Network


Game 1: No. 6 Maryland 6, No. 3 Illinois 2

Game 2: No. 7 Ohio State 2, No. 2 Michigan 1

Game 3: No. 8 Iowa 4, No. 1 Indiana 2

Game 4: No. 5 Nebraska 8, No. 4 Minnesota 2


Game 5: Michigan 5, Illinois 4

Game 6: Minnesota 9, Indiana 4 

Game 7: Maryland vs. Ohio State, suspended

Game 8: Iowa vs. Nebraska, postponed 


Game 7: Ohio State 3, Maryland 2

Game 8: Nebraska 11, Iowa 1

Game 9: Michigan 10, Maryland 4

Game 10: Minnesota 3, Iowa 0


Game 11: Michigan 18, Nebraska 8

Game 12: Minnesota 9, Ohio State 6

Game 13: Nebraska 7, Michigan 3


Game 14: Minnesota vs. Ohio State, noon

Game 15: Championship, 4 p.m.