UM’s Connor among three finalists for Hobey Baker

The Detroit News
Kyle Connor

Michigan freshman forward Kyle Connor, the Big Ten player of the year, is one of three finalists for the Hobey Baker Award, given to the top player in college hockey.

The other finalists are Boston College junior goalie Thatcher Demko and Harvard senior forward Jimmy Vesey.

The winner will be announced live on Friday, April 8 at 6 p.m. on the NHL Network.

Connor, who is from Shelby Township, led the nation in scoring with 71 points, including 35 goals.

He is the third Michigan player to be among the Hobey Baker final three nominees, joining Brendan Morrison in 1997 and Kevin Porter in 2008. Both Morrison and Porter won the award.

The award was first presented in 1981.

Connor was selected in the first round of the 2015 NHL draft by the Winnipeg Jets. He has not announced whether he will turn pro or return to Michigan.