Michigan will play Rutgers, Iowa at night

The Detroit News
Michigan began the Jim Harbaugh era with a night game last season, at Utah.

Michigan will play two night games during Big Ten conference play this fall.

The Wolverines will play their Big Ten road opener against Rutgers on Oct. 8 at either 7 or 8 p.m. ET. This will be the team’s second-ever appearance at High Point Solutions Stadium in New Brunswick, N.J.. The Scarlet Knights won the inaugural meeting in a night game, 26-24, on Oct. 4, 2014.

The final primetime kickoff of Michigan’s regular-season schedule will be played at Iowa on Nov. 12. The Wolverines and Hawkeyes, the defending Big Ten West Division champions, will play at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT from Kinnick Stadium in Iowa City, Iowa. This will be the second time that the two schools have met in primetime, with Iowa winning the matchup, 30-28, on Oct. 10, 2009, at Kinnick Stadium.

The television network for the Rutgers and Iowa games will be selected at a later date. The games could be shown on ABC, ESPN or ESPN2.

The Wolverines are 29-20 all-time in night games.

Following are the seven night games that have been selected for broadcast on the ESPN family of networks:

Oct. 8 – Michigan at Rutgers, ABC/ESPN/ESPN2, 7 or 8 p.m. ET

Oct. 15 – Ohio State at Wisconsin, ABC/ESPN/ESPN2, 8 p.m. ET

Oct. 22 – Ohio State at Penn State, ABC/ESPN/ESPN2, 8 p.m. ET

Oct. 29 – Nebraska at Wisconsin, ABC/ESPN/ESPN2, 7 or 8 or 9 p.m. ET

Oct. 29 – Northwestern at Ohio State, ABC/ESPN/ESPN2, 5:30 p.m. ET

Nov. 5 – Nebraska at Ohio State, ABC/ESPN/ESPN2, 8 p.m. ET

Nov. 12 – Michigan at Iowa, ABC/ESPN/ESPN2, 8 p.m. ET

MICHIGAN 2016 SCHEDULE

Sat., Sept. 3, Hawaii, TBA

Sat., Sept. 10, Central Florida, TBA

Sat., Sept. 17, Colorado, TBA

Sat., Sept. 24, Penn State, TBA

Sat., Oct. 1, Wisconsin, TBA

Sat., Oct. 8, at Rutgers, 7 or 8 p.m ET (ABC/ESPN/ESPN2)

Sat., Oct. 22, Illinois, TBA

Sat., Oct. 29, at Michigan State, TBA

Sat., Nov. 5, Maryland, TBA

Sat., Nov. 12, at Iowa, 8 p.m. ET (ABC/ESPN/ESPN2)

Sat., Nov. 19, Indiana, TBA

Sat., Nov. 26, at Ohio State, TBA