Odds improving for Michigan to win national title

The Detroit News
Jim Harbaugh

Jim Harbaugh’s second season at Michigan has captured the imagination of bettors.

According to the Las Vegas Superbook, Michigan, originally listed with 15-1 odds to win the national title, has been bet down to 7-1. The Wolverines trail only defending champion Alabama, which is at 5-1.

At VegasInsider.com, the Wolverines are the fourth-favorite at 8-1, trailing Alabama (7-1), Clemson (15-2) and Ohio State (15-2). Michigan State is tied for 12th at 35-1 odds.

At Bovada.lv, Michigan is once against the fourth-favorite at 10-1, behind Alabama (7-1), Ohio State (8-1) and Clemson (8-1), with the Spartans 12th at 22-1.

Detroit News Big Ten football primer

MICHIGAN 2016 SCHEDULE

Sat., Sept. 3, Hawaii, noon (BTN)

Sat., Sept. 10, Central Florida, noon (ABC or ESPN)

Sat., Sept. 17, Colorado, 3:30 p.m. (BTN)

Sat., Sept. 24, Penn State, time and TV TBA

Sat., Oct. 1, Wisconsin, time and TV TBA

Sat., Oct. 8, at Rutgers, 7 or 8 p.m. (ABC or ESPN or ESPN2)

Sat., Oct. 22, Illinois, 3:30 p.m. (TBA)

Sat., Oct. 29, at Michigan State, time and TV TBA

Sat., Nov. 5, Maryland, time and TV TBA

Sat., Nov. 12, at Iowa, 8 p.m. (ABC or ESPN or ESPN2)

Sat., Nov. 19, Indiana, time and TV TBA

Sat., Nov. 26, at Ohio State, time and TV TBA