Beaumont-Spectrum to perform 'medically necessary' abortions, calls for courts to clarify 1931 ban

UM’s Peppers, Lewis, Butt finalists for major awards

The Detroit News
Jabrill Peppers

Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppers is one of three finalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year) and the Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year), it was announced Monday.

Michigan’s Jourdan Lewis (Thorpe Award, best defensive back) and Jake Butt (Mackey Award, best tight end) are also finalists for top national awards.

The Mackey Award winner will be announced during the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Special on Thursday, Dec. 8, at 6 p.m. on ESPNU.

The Bednarik, Maxwell and Thorpe winners will be revealed during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, also Dec. 8, at 7 p.m. on ESPN.

Bednarik finalists: Peppers, Alabama DE Jonathan Allen, Texas A&M DE Myles Garrett.

Maxwell finalists: Peppers, Louisville QB Lamar Jackson, Oklahoma QB Baker Mayfield.

Thorpe finalists: Lewis, USC’s Adoree Jackson, LSU’s Tre’Davious White.

Mackey finalists: Butt, Alabama’s O.J. Howard, Clemson’s Jordan Leggett.

OSU Urban Meyer respects, doesn’t like, Michigan