Jabrill Peppers finalist for Walter Camp award

Angelique S. Chengelis
The Detroit News
Jabrill Peppers

Michigan three-way player Jabrill Peppers is one of five finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award.

Peppers is one of two defensive players in the final group announced Wednesday.

The other finalists are: Quarterbacks Jake Browning (Washington), Lamar Jackson (Louisville), Deshaun Watson (Clemson) and defensive lineman Jonathan Allen (Alabama).

Peppers on Tuesday collected plenty of Big Ten hardware.  He was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, Linebacker of the Year and Return Specialist of the Year.

He is the first player in Big Ten history to collect three individual honors. Peppers is tied for second on the team with 72 tackles, including 16 for loss, four sacks and one interception.

Peppers averaged 14.8 yards on punt returns and scored one touchdown, and 26.0 yards on kickoff return. He also rushed 27 times for 167 yards and three touchdowns while catching two passes.

The Walter Camp award is voted on by the 129 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors. The winner will be announced Dec. 8.